A tumor with teeth and hair?? Don’t read if you’re grossed out easily. There are pictures.

8 Jan

Sorry guys. This is gross. I am studying for an exam tomorrow and have to keep myself entertained while studying or else I’ll go crazy!

For those you of not in medicine, did you know that there are some types of tumors that can contain fat, teeth, bone and hair, amongst other tissues? Yup, they’re called teratomas. Why on Earth am I writing about this? Because I read about it earlier in one of the case books I was reviewing, and now I’m bored and don’t feel like studying so I am procrastinating by writing this disgusting blog post on teratomas. Duh. Isn’t that what everyone does??

So, the word teratoma comes from classical Greek and means roughly “monstrous tumor”.

Here is a description of their pathophysiology taken from emedicine, because I am too lazy to summarize it myself:

Teratomas are made up of a variety of parenchymal cell types representing more than 1 germ layer and often all 3. Arising from totipotential cells, these tumors typically are midline or paraxial.[3] The most common location is sacrococcygeal (57%). Because they arise from totipotential cells, they are encountered commonly in the gonads (29%). By far, the most common gonadal location is the ovary, although they also occur somewhat less frequently in the testes. Cystic teratomas occasionally occur in sequestered midline embryonic cell rests and can be mediastinal (7%), retroperitoneal (4%), cervical (3%), and intracranial (3%).[4] Cells differentiate along various germ lines, essentially recapitulating any tissue of the body. Examples include hair, teeth, fat, skin, muscle, and endocrine tissue.

As said above, a common place for them to occur is in the ovaries (gonads) in women. If they become large, they can become twisted, swollen, or bleed, and thus it can be a source of abdominal pain in young women, which is what my case was about:

Now, before you go hating teratomas, they are actually in most cases a benign tumor, and if your’e going to have a tumor in your ovary, it’s a MUCH better one to have than many others.

Ok, that’s all. Below are some more pictures in case you weren’t already completely grossed out. Sorry I am posting this around dinnertime, but I warned you.

This cystic teratoma has hair. DISGUSTING.

This hairy and fatty one absolutely disgusts me, so I am making it small. Click on it if you have some masochistic strong desire to see a bigger picture of it.

20 Responses to “A tumor with teeth and hair?? Don’t read if you’re grossed out easily. There are pictures.”

  1. Donna August 6, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    I had one removed today but mine did not have hair and teeth but it was as big as a cantelope. I was wondering is this a rare occurrence. Just wondering I am always the one with rare things happen to me.

    • Leeno September 28, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      My 16 year old sister just had one of these removed, it was also 10cm. and it was full of hair and fat and even fingernails!. It was nasty. It had twisted so much from her tossing and turning we finally took her to hospital and they couldnt find her ovary it was so big they had to take it out. luckily she is fine. just cant play soccer this year which is horrible for her but def, a tumor that I’d rather over any other pretty much

  2. Hollypham October 5, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    I would like to know and learn more about Tumors that contain Hair, fat , teeth and bone .

    • Hollypham October 5, 2012 at 12:59 am #

      I used to have the Tumor that contain hair and teeth . I had an surgery seen 2000. I don’t know if it will glow back . Please help .

  3. Natalie November 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    I just had surgery on friday because i was getting my tubes tied and they found 2 tumors, one on each ovary and one of them was really big with hair teeth and skin! It looked soo gross when i saw the pic. Thank God its out of me

  4. Jesus Saves November 26, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    The work of the devil.

    • crystal Bearrington March 13, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

      God made all things, god made man. Therefore it is NOT the work of Satan. I find it insulting that you would even insinuate that, or that maybe the unfortunate people who have had these were being punished. That’s what I got outta that. Its reasons like your comment here that makes people despise us good Christians so. Please, think before you post next time.

      • Satan666 April 3, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

        Nah, pretty sure it’s whiny bullshit like that post that’s the primary cause of people hating good christians, at least that’s my diagnosis…

    • lilwhip7 April 1, 2014 at 12:59 pm #

      That’s just WRONG!!! How in the hell do you know that the devil’s work? What? Are you a frickin priest? You are so rude! Your momma should have raised you better. Fool.

    • Haleshia Miller June 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

      The work of the devil??? Seriously???? I suppose cancer, diabetes and other such illnesses are considered that as well in closed minded people? I am not trying to be insulting to you but this comment you made is very offensive to me and many other christians as well. I will pray for enlightenment for you my friend.

  5. Barbara April 14, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    I had a 17 pound Monster removed on April 11th with 3 teeth and hair. It had 8 liters of fluid in it. Barbara

  6. lulu May 25, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    the doctors told me i have the moster and its a teeth and i ddnt remove it .as we speak now im pregnant will it affct me or the baby??

  7. Jade July 10, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Barbara that’s called a baby. YOU HAD A FAT SCARY BABY.

  8. Lucy August 16, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    I had a similar tumor that had hair and teeth. That was in 1984. I was told that this was my twin and had been dorminate my entire life until it started to grow. At time of surgery the tumor was bigger than grapefruit Of course had hysterectomy but tumor had engulfed most the other organs There is a specific name and I do have it but unable to locate at this time I want to say it starts with a D

  9. Alberto September 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Strangely, I also have a macabre, albeit holy, fascination bordering on fetishism for tumors and neoplasms. I l saw one on a medical channel where it was 80 +/- lbs. and removal was complicated by arteries running through it. I don’t like to merely gawk at tumors, but love to see some thing so detrimental get removed and fed to child molesters in their unit.

  10. kevin February 6, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    My aunty just had a large hairy cyst removed it was 11 inches long and had beautiful teeth, she believes it was her unborn baby jane

  11. Kristen February 11, 2014 at 10:17 pm #

    Had two of these removed in 2010. One was the size of a soccer ball and the other was the size of a grapefruit. Had horrible problems up til the removal but after the hysterectomy I have had no problems. I was told the surgical nurse was really freaked out.

  12. Laurie March 26, 2014 at 4:28 am #

    I had two at Nineteen all with teeth, hair, etc they were the size of grapefruits. I lost my left ovary. Then exactly 10 yrs later at 29 they found them again on the right ovary and had to remove that one. Needless to say I never had any children of my own. I now have one on my left kidney they call it Angiomiolympoma what most women do not know is that once the ovaries are gone they begin to take over and grow on other organs of the body. They keep a very close eye on this tumor as it cannot be removed until 5 cm. I was Blessed enough to meet a wonderful divorced man whom had custody of his 3yr old son. I helped raise him as the biological mother terminated her own parental rights due to being a drug addict and alcoholic. This boy is MY SON. He is now 18 and just got accepted to U conn I am so PROUD!! SO sometimes what is considered monstrous is really a diamond when God has other plans for you Especially when a precious child is already in need of a real mom!! :)

  13. Karina March 26, 2014 at 9:25 am #

    I am going in for surgery in month to have mine removed. They’re saying that its the size of a giant grapefruit and they plan on cutting vertically up to my belly button. Do you guys have any advice, what to do before or after? Also, did your stomach lose feeling (in the area of the cut) after the surgery? thanks for any help

  14. Vlad June 29, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    I wish I could grow a tooth instead of the pulled one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

