Wine at noon? Why not!

18 May

Workout:  1 hour 15 minutes elliptical

When I got home from the hospital this morning, I quickly changed into my workout clothes and made the long trek to the gym (down one elevator and up another).  It took me a whole 3 minutes to get there.  Rough, I know.

Yesterday I stayed on the elliptical for two 45 minute episodes of my new favorite teen drama and fully completed season one of Make it or Break it before going home and crashing.  Today, I couldn’t wait to find out what drama would unfold during the first two episodes of season two.  So what if I was looking forward to it all night at work?  Yes, it may be a “teen drama”, but it’s really no different than 90210 or any other soap opera (not that that’s a good justification : )…the characters just happen to be teenage gymnasts.   Same love triangles and drama as any other show, so don’t judge me for being 30 and fully enjoying Make it or Break it ; ).

Unfortunately, yesterday when I was charging my ipad, i plugged it into my adaptor which wasn’t plugged into my wall (I’m just so brilliant I can’t stand it), so it didn’t charge : (, and my ipad died 15 minutes before the end of my second episode at a very intense moment in the episode.  No source of distraction for me on an elliptical = no workout, so I hopped off of the machine as soon as my battery died.

It’s now 12:24 pm, and this is what I’m doing:

….save your compliments, folks …Glamour Shots already saw this picture and asked me to model for them.

Seriously, though, I don’t know what my deal is!  Can’t seem to relax/unwind, which clearly means drinking wine by myself at noon in my bed while blogging is the best solution (only one, maybe 1.5 glasses, though, just so y’all don’t think I’m an alcoholic).  I was actually really craving a nice cool glass of white wine, since it’s warm out and I had just worked out.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any in my apartment and was too lazy to walk across the street to pick up a bottle, so I settled for red wine.  I was thinking, though, that as part of their benefits package for residents, Northwestern should offer a post-call wine delivery service.  Now wouldn’t that just be wonderful!  I wonder if they’ll like that idea as much as I do!

~

Dean and I don’t see each other too much when I work nights, because he works long hours at work during the day.  One of the things he’s been doing, though, is leaving me sweet little notes to come home, too:

Dean’s little notes for me when I get home from my night shift.  Don’t bother attempting to  zoom this pic up and read it….I blurred the actual message.  Not that it was anything super personal, but there are some things, believe it or not, that I like to keep private on this blog.

I hope posting that doesn’t make you gag at our young-couple affection for each other, it just makes me happy and gives me something to look forward to when coming home from a stressful night shift (yes, even more than make it or break it : )

The other thing that I came home to the other day that made me really happy was my new pair of Danskos:

I just love getting packages in the mail!  It’s like opening presents on Christmas!

If you aren’t a resident or medical student, I’m not sure if you’ll appreciate these shoes, but I absolutely LOVE them.  Danskos are the most comfortable shoes ever.  I got a pair of these lovely, elegant shoes my third year of medical school:

Aren’t they just lovely?  Ha.  So this is what they look like five years after I bought them, and I won’t make any lies…they weren’t exactly dainty or classy looking to begin with, but I have never been one to choose cute, uncomfortable shoes over comfortable, ugly shoes (sorry Dean), but I was sorta getting a little embarrassed by how these looked, so I decided it was time to get a new pair:

Now, they’re still nothing I would call beautiful, but come on…they’re a little bit classier looking than my old pair, and they make me a whopping 5’3-5’4” inches tall!  I mean, I’m practically a giant when I wear these!

Seriously, though, they are sooooo comfortable.  I could literally hike up Mount Kilimangaro in these!  Of course, I suppose they’ll also do for sitting at desk in front of a computer screen all day.  Ha.  Clearly I needed these shoes.

QUESTIONS:

White or Red wine?

Totally depends on my mood.

Comfortable shoes or cute shoes?

I wish I were one of those girls who could make walking in cute heels look comfortable and easy.

Anyone own Danskos?  How long did they last?

These shoes are so worth the money.  They last FOREVER and are super comfortable.

How do you unwind after a stressful day?

Working out, blogging or reading other blogs, or wine.

8 Responses to “Wine at noon? Why not!”

  1. runningthewindycity May 18, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    I saw Danskos at a shop in Michigan and debated buying them. I’ve been wearing toms a lot (comfy but NOT supportive) and figured I need to invest in something better for my feet. I decided to wait for a sale though!

    • Julia May 24, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      Yeah, they’re pricey, and I held out buying a new pair for a long time, but I’m so happy with my purchase. They are definitely worth it, and when I was on my surgery rotations, I noticed a HUGE difference standing around in my danskos all day vs gym shoes (even gym shoes that were supportive).

      I love Toms, but they don’t fit me : ( I can’t find any with a narrow enough heel for me.

  2. Heidi @ Idlehide May 18, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I tend to like white wine a little more and to relax, I like to read blogs. Like right now, when I’m supposed to be studying I just hop on over to bloglovin’ instead. Oops!

    • Julia May 24, 2012 at 8:28 am #

      Yup, the blogging world is also a distraction for me : )

  3. tito travels May 18, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    The thing that helps this little puppy de-stress: humping my stuffed pig

  4. Losing Lindy May 18, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I had two pair back when I had stress fractures. They were so comfy and supportive. Then I went and had V, so now I barely afford any clothes for me from ON.

    I also like Born shoes, not as supportive, but very comfy and cute.

  5. Sandee May 27, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    White in the summer and more red in the fall/winter. Love Dansko! I’m a dental hygienist and I love them. They do last forever!! They start looking crappy way before they fall apart.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

