I’m a hoarder! Sorta.

7 Jun

Tuesday workout:   3 mile TM run.  5 minutes weights (better than nothin’!)

Wednesday workout:  Packing?

This has been quite a stressful, sleep-deprived week for me, and I’ve been trying my best to fit in at least a few workouts.  I must confess, though, my eating habits have been horrible.  I think the greatest volume of “food” that I’ve been consuming is chocolate and coffee.  Literally.  I think I had 4 LARGE cups of coffee today, spread out between 5 am when I got up and a few hours ago at 9:30 pm when I went downstairs to work on some residency stuff after doing some packing.

A few observations:

1.  Powerpoint presentations always end up taking way more time than I expect.  You’d think that after 4 years of college, 4 years of medical school, and now 3 years of residency I would have learned that by now.  Apparently not.

Apparently, I’ve turned into a big chocolate malt ball.

2.  I don’t know how people eat crappy and don’t exercise on a regular basis.  I’m not saying that to be condescending or critical of others, but rather because I truly feel like complete shi* from the way I have been eating this week.  I feel gross and lethargic.   I’ve been consuming tons of empty calories–that is, calories that have little to no nutritional value–and I totally feel a difference in the way I feel.  Too many people underestimate the effects of nutrition on their bodies.  There is some truth to the saying that “you are what you eat”.

3.  Moving is both exciting and stressful.  I’m excited, because I will be moving in with my “best friend”, and I LOVE our new loft, but trying to coordinate cleaning, packing and getting stuff out of one place and into the other is a pain in the as$

Our new place!

Speaking of cleaning and getting ready to move, I’ve discovered that not only am I chocolate malt ball based on what I eat, but I am also  hoarder:

Ok.  Just kidding.  I’m not that bad, but I did find some interesting things that I probably should have gotten rid of a long time ago, such as a some 1.44 MB floppy disks, a disposable kodak camera, a cassette “walkman”, multiple very old cell phones, and a checkbook with my college address on it:

Are these antiques yet? Maybe I should ask Dean since he’s seen so many episodes of American Pawn Stars ; )

How cool do I look with my walkman?? Right.

What kind of phone is this?! I seriously found 4 old phones today.

I have absolutely NO idea what is on this camera, and I kinda want to get it developed out of curiosity. Do places still develop film from these cameras?! So old-fashioned.

I was pretty proud of myself with how much I was getting rid of.  I was also super excited to throw that big bag down the trash chute in my apartment building and hear it crash all the way down 28 flights. It’s very satisfaction in strange kind of way.

Sadly, my excitement was halted by this problem: I couldn’t fit the bag down the chute!!

I had to have Dean come to the rescue.  He fit the bag in the chute somehow, and then we got to share a magical moment together as we both listened to the bag go crashing down.   Such a romantic and memorable experience.

QUESTIONS:

Do you still own things that are “antiques”, like a cassette player or non-smart phone?

How many cups of coffee do you drink a day on average?

On a work day, normally 1-3 (~10 oz) “cups” (1-2 in the morning, 1 in the afternoon)

What kind of stuff do you eat when you are stressed?  Notice a difference in how you feel?

I apologize for not visiting several of my “virtual friends’ blogs recently.  I just have to get through this weekend, and then I look forward to relaxing (in my new place!) with a glass of win in my hand and my computer on my lap.  Hope everyone is having a good week!

7 Responses to “I’m a hoarder! Sorta.”

  1. Losing Lindy June 7, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    I didn’t know you were moving, how exciting! I feel like my place is becoming the hoarding picture…blah! I am working on it, slowly.

  2. Heidi @ Idlehide June 7, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    my part-time job (as a super) requires us to have the phone sometimes and it is a flip phone. I am always self-concious to take it out if it’s ringing in public because I mean, who has those? haha:)
    Your new place looks fab! I love lofts

  3. runningthewindycity June 7, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    I definitely keep things for too long and it drives my boyfriend nuts. I just have trouble throwing things away. Especially if I think I might use them again.

    Good luck moving!

  4. Erica A June 7, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I posted some letters yesterday with .33 cent stamps I found in my drawer (circa 1999). Keep in mind I have moved 4 times since then. I have a disc man and a poloroid camera too. Just in case.

    I am down to one venti coffee per day. My chocolate has been on the rise :( have to harness that! I definitely feel better when I eat better, too!

  5. kaitwatts June 7, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Your new place looks fab! Maybe I should read that book too. Moving is such a great time to get rid of stuff. I got rid of like 4 cell phones last week. I sent them in the mail to some overseas phone for soldiers program. I felt better than throwing it away.

  6. Erica A June 7, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Forgot to say – exciting about the move! How fun. Neal and I loved being roommates before we got married! :)

  7. Kailey June 9, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    4 cups of coffee for me – no more no less :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

