Dean’s weird gift

26 Jun

Monday workout:  Ended up doing 35 minutes on the recumbent bike while doing laundry in addition to the 20 minutes of bike riding for my commute, so 55 minutes ain’t all that bad I suppose.

Yesterday when Dean got home he came into the den where I was “working” (aka blogging at the time) and asked me if he could borrow my Ipad.  I was like, of course.

A few minutes later I went to make some tea and found Dean intensely focusing on something he was working on at the kitchen counter:

After making sure that wasn’t a piece of turd sitting in my wine glass (in the left lower corner of the picture) I went over to look at my ipad:

What?  So since we can’t own pets in our apartment, Dean decided to grow a Sequoia tree??

Haha.  Apparently Dean was at some technology/innovation meeting where one of the companies were handing out seeds for sequoia trees.  The company was supposedly involved in medical device engineering stuff, so I have no idea what a sequoia tree has to do with it, but Dean was apparently pretty excited about the idea of us growing a sequoia tree.

The #5 direction listed above says “Seal the bag and refrigerate for 30 days.”  So if you come to my apartment and grab for something in the fridge, I swear I’m not storing poop in the fridge:

So that was the weird gift Dean RECEIVED from his meeting.  In regards to the gift Dean GAVE me for my birthday….I LOVE it:

A Keurig coffee maker!!  This would have come in very handy yesterday morning during my spilled coffee fiasco.

I was originally hesitant about getting one of these, because they are not cost efficient in regards to making coffee at home, but you know what….I’m all about the convenience!  Totally worth it.  So easy to make and essentially nothing to clean up.  Love it, and I had so much fun picking out different, fun coffee flavored K-cups to go with it.  I tried macadamia nut and toffee nut this morning, and I can’t wait to try the cinnamon roll flavor tomorrow morning!  Yes, I am easily excited by seemingly little things.

So convenient. All set up and ready to go the night before so that when I wake up, all I have to press is two buttons and my coffee is ready to drink in 2 minutes. Haha, wow, we Americans are so lazy.

We also picked out a bunch of other stuff at Bed, Bath, and Beyond last night, thanks to a gift certificate my parents gave me for my birthday as well as a bunch of coupons I’ve saved over the years:

Those Bed Bath and Beyond coupons never expire, so save them!

QUESTIONS:

K-cup coffee fan?  What are your favorite flavors?

How do you get to work?  Bus, drive, train, walk, bike?

Ever gotten a sequoia tree as a gift?!

8 Responses to “Dean’s weird gift”

  1. Losing Lindy June 26, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    I am a not a fan of the machine. I actually make TJ’s Dark Roast, it is really good.

    I wish I had a barista in my place making me lattes every day. That would be what i want. :)

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:49 am #

      Personally, my favorite way to make coffee is with a simple French press, but during week day mornings, I like the idea of a keurig, although a personal barista would be the ideal way to go! : )

  2. Heidi (@idlehide) June 26, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    You are going to love your Keurig!! I don’t always love the k-cups, but I love the “my-cup” which you put your own coffee in and I only brew it on the middle size because I find it the best proportions. Also having the my-cup is a money saver, which I’m all about:)

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:48 am #

      I didn’t know there was such a thing as “my-cup”. I love that idea!

  3. alex m June 26, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I don’t drink coffee, I’m a hot tea person, but someone at work makes the chocolate donut flavored coffee everyday in our Keurig at work and it smells DELICIOUS! You should try that one if you like chocolate donuts.

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:48 am #

      I will have to give that flavor a try!

  4. walktothemailbox July 2, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I’m obSESSED with my keurig! You’re going to love it!!!

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:00 am #

      I LOVE it. So convenient, and so fun picking out the different flavors.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

