Saturday funday

1 Jul

Saturday funday doesn’t sound as good as Sunday Funday, but whoever thought up of the word saturday was not thinking, because it is very hard to rhyme with.

Saturday workout:  45 minute run

I now live about a 10-15 minute run from the lake (depending on the route).  In my old place, I was about a 1 minute jog from the lake, but you know what, I really enjoy running through the streets of Chicago, and yesterday that’s all Dean and I did.   After a lazy morning involving French pressed coffee and TV, we set out around 10 am with no planned route, and just ran down whatever street we felt like.  I just love discovering new areas of the city I’ve never seen before, so of course I had to take several pictures:

Given that it was like 90 something degrees out, I was surprised that I wasn’t completely dying in the heat and was sorta feeling a little proud of myself.  Then I realized it was probably because I was running really slow and stopping every couple of minutes to take pictures.  Haha.

~

Dean’s aunt and uncle were so gracious and offered to give us a few pieces of furniture for our new place, so Saturday afternoon we drove up to Wisconsin to where they live to pick up the pieces of furniture and bring them back to our place.

Dean’s aunt and uncle have a pool. After moving furniture around in the 90-100 degree weather, we cooled off by the pool before heading back to Chicago. Btw, that’s a pineapple smirnoff ice we were drinking. I have never been a sugary alcoholic drink fan, but the pineapple smirnoff was delicious! Perfect for a poolside drink on a hot day!

I have an obsession with Greg and Cindy’s dogs. They are the cutest things ever. I keep threatening to take them home with us. I asked Greg if he could throw in his dogs with the furniture deal he is giving us, but he declined : (

After that was done, we introduced them to the mega Whole Foods practically just down the street from us, where we all bought beers there at the bar and then walked around shopping for food to grill up on our rooftop for dinner.  I always love seeing people’s expressions the first time they walk into that Whole Foods.  I remember my dad looking completely overwhelmed the first time I took him there…he just kept wandering around everywhere paralyzed with indecision from all the choices of food to eat.  Haha.

Just doing a little shopping with some beer on the side : )

We picked up some pesto shrimp and veggie skewers, some salmon burgers, pretzel buns (my favorite!), some salad stuff, and of course my favorite beer.

We then relaxed, grilled, and pigged out on our rooftop while enjoying the sunset.  I’m feeling very spoiled right now : )

Dean, Cindy, and Greg with the sunset in the background.

Another sunset view.

Grilling.

Pesto shrimp skewers, veggie skewers, and salmon burgers.

City view.

Instagrammed city view that was technically taken Friday night when Dean and I were on the rooftop.

*I apologize for any potential typos/grammatical errors…I don’t have time to proofread right now if I want to fit in a workout before brunch!

6 Responses to “Saturday funday”

  1. Jenn @ Run It My Way July 1, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    Chicago looks like such a beautiful city, I love seeing all the pictures you post from around the city! Ryan is going to be visiting for the Chicago Marathon in October and I SERIOUSLY want to go with him, haha mostly because it looks so amazing in all your pictures :)

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 6:59 am #

      THanks : ) Come with Ryan!

  2. Katherine @ Neon Blonde Runner July 1, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Oh my goodness, what beautiful photos!! I especially love the sunset photos with your dark silhouettes.

  3. Losing Lindy July 1, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    It looks like a great day!

  4. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner July 2, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I think you’ve started a new term : Saturday funday. I’ll start spreading it around, but don’t worry, I’ll make sure to give you all the cred!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

