The Elliptical Olympics

3 Jul

Sunday workout:  2 hours elliptical

Monday workout:  50-55 minutes elliptical, 15 minutes strength training (+30-40 minutes of bike fi you count my commute to work and then to the grocery store later at night)

Ughh, what a hot, miserable bike ride home today.  I hate this weather.  I like 20 degree weather over 90 degree humid weather.   It makes me cranky, tired, and lazy.  How do people survive in hot environments?  Screw Arizona of Florida when it comes time for me to retire….I’m moving to Alaska!

I don’t even now why I took the time to curl my hair this morning, because this is what it looked like by the time I got home today:

And it didn’t look that much better either when I arrived at work this morning.

And to make matters worse, this happened to me:

Trust me. I’m a doctor. Even if I drool all over myself.

I was trying to get every last drop of a chocolate shake, which ended up on my white coat instead of in my mouth.  Classy.

After I go home from work, I was too hot and tired to move from my couch, so I finished the rest of the Olympic gymnastic trials that I had recorded and started watching the day before.

I love, love, love gymnastics.  It is probably my favorite Olympic sport to wach (although I enjoy watching any and all Olympic events).  The level of physical and mental strength these gymnasts have truly amaze me.

I thought the girl that won, Gabby Douglas, was incredible and had so much spunk, and I loved her humbleness when the reporter was interviewing her at the end.

Source

Watching the Olympic trials got me re-energized, and I couldn’t wait to get downstairs and  train like an Olympian on the elliptical.  I was convinced that if they ever allowed the elliptical as an Olympic sport, I would most definitely win ; )

While working out downstairs, I was impressed by the 65 pound weights Dean was lifitng:

I decided I wanted to be cool like him:

Yeah….not so much.  Instead, it just looks like I’m constipated and trying really really hard to have a shi*.  Another classy look pulled off by me today.

QUESTIONS:

Favorite Olympic sport to watch??  Any athletes you’re particularly excited to watch?

6 Responses to “The Elliptical Olympics”

  1. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner July 3, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    I love the Olympics in general, but I also love the running events. It’s crazy to see people move that fast. I’m super pumped for the marathon and to see Shalane, Desi and Kara dominate!

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:01 am #

      ME TOO!! 9 days until opening ceremonies.

  2. Jenn @ Run It My Way July 3, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    You are hilarious, I laughed out loud when I read this! Glad I’m not the only one who thinks it’s hysterical to post less-than-flattering photos online, though somehow you still look cute in yours :)

    Gymnastics is my absolute favourite!! I did gymnastics for 8 years and competed at the Canada Games- I still think the curb on the side of the road = balance beam for me to practice cartwheels on :)

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:01 am #

      Do you ever miss gymnastics? I on occasion get really sentimental about the figure skating.

  3. runningthewindycity July 3, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I biked to work yesterday but called it quits today. There is no way I’m biking in 100+ weather. Yuck!

    I love watching all Olympic events but my favorites are gymnastics and swimming.

  4. Katie September 29, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Ellipticals really have to be one of the most efficient cardio machines! Good to see people putting more time into them! Best of luck with your goals!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

