Side-lined and my promise to you

16 Jul

Sunday workout:  45 minutes elliptical.

I thought my heel/arch and I had made a truce and had decided to get along:  I wouldn’t complain about it or push it too much with the running as long as it promised not to get any worse.

But, it has chosen to defy our agreement

Who knew such a small piece of fascia could be so obnoxiously demanding?

My plantar fascia started bothering me back in March, and I for the most part of I’ve been conceding to it….hardly doing any running since the marathon last May, stretching and massaging it, and I even bought new shoes.  I thought it was getting better and that I could start easing back into the running, but it let me know otherwise last week when it forced me to cut my run short.

How long is this going to take?  Geese.

So rather than be annoying and complain about my plantar fasciitis, what am I going to do about it?

-I’m finally sucking it up and going to a doctor.  Doctors (me) often make the worst patients.  I just hate shelling out money to go the doctor.  I was pissed last month when I got charged $300 for a doctor to tell me I had sinonasal polyps, which I had already diagnosed myself.

I’ve tried to avoid going to a doctor for my heel so far, but since it’s not getting better, I just need someone to tell me what I should and should not be doing in order to make this heal!

-I will avoid running until I am told I can.  Herein lies a minor problem.  I’ve been doing the elliptical a lot over the past several weeks/months, and I seriously can NOT take it any longer.  I can NOT stand the idea of doing any sort of indoor cardio on a machine.

Ughhh, so I don’t know what to do, and am quite honestly feeling very disheartened and unmotivated.  You know?  I’m missing that excitement factor with my workouts that fills me with intensity and determination and drives me to work hard and push the limit.  Instead, I’ve been reluctantly heading downstairs, hopping on the elliptical and using whatever distraction I can find to make the time go by faster.

I’ve been thinking of joining some group classes somewhere to incite a little inspiration and motivation in me while I can’t run.

I’ve heard a lot of great things about Crossfit, and started to get really excited at the idea of focusing on more cross and strength training .  I‘ve been doing strength training since I was 11, and in high school I did a lot of powerlifting (snatches, clings, overhead squats, etc.) to help with my skating…..What??  Yup!  and you thought all you had to do to be a figure skater was look pretty and stay thin.  Ha.  So wrong.

And you thought all you had to do was look cute and stay thin to be a figure skater?? Take a look at Sasha Cohen’s strength (slightly scary looking I know)!
I started strength training when I was 11 to improve my figure skating. Figure skaters may make it all look easy and graceful, but don’t EVER underestimate the amount of strength that is needed to compete in this sport. Successfully completing a senior long program is way WAY more difficult than any marathon I’ve ever ran. Hands down.

Pulling off a double axel or triple jump requires a lot of coordinated fast-twitch muscle strength!  It aint easy!!

Anyway, I really enjoyed the powerlifting workouts I used to do for skating, and so I thought I might find Crossfit fun and rewarding, but then I saw the price:  $945 for three months.  Almost A THOUSAND DOLLARS FOR THREE MONTHS???  Um, there’s no way.    : (

Now, I’m by no means criticizing those who do/pay for Crossfit.  If I could, I definitely would pay for it.  I think it sounds awesome, and I love how it emphasizes being strong rather than so many fitness centers and fitness classes that emphasize being thin, but we all make choices on what to spend our money on based on a number of factors, including our income, and the choices I’ve made in terms of finances (travel, moving, etc.) in combination with my income (resident salary) just does not leave the kind of money to spare that I would need to pay for this.  Bummer : (

*Sigh* Sorry, injured runners are probably the most annoying people in the world to be around.  It’s, like, the end of the world to us if we can’t run, and everyone most know about it.  haha.

I just need to find some other physical activity to challenge, inspire, and motivate me so that I’ll stop moping around feeling sorry for myself and complaining about it to everyone.

Suggestions??

Ok, that’s it.  I’m done.  I  PROMISE to you that this is the LAST post I’ll write complaining about my heel.  Long hours and working nights turns me into cranky, whiny, impatient person.

 

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Side-lined and my promise to you”

  1. tootallfritz July 16, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    My Plantar Fasciitis, plus a week posterior tibialus spelled disaster. Went to a foot surgeon who diagnosed PF & corresponding heel spurs. He had no clue about my posterior tibialus issue but he gave anti inflams, made orthotics, then eventually after 3rd cortisone shot my posterior tibialus popped during a run. 2nd degree tear, no running for 12 weeks. I have a great chiro now doing a variety of treatments to fix it & making progress. Foot surgeon was just waiting for it to go away. I’ve been suffering for a year.

    Good luck, so many docs don’t know what to do with it. Everyone I know who has gotten better has had graston treatments. Not fun but effective.

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:13 am #

      Ughhh. How incredibly frustrating. Glad you’re making some progress now.

  2. Erica A July 16, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    I really like yoga sculpt at core power. If you are a CARA member, you can get 10 classes at the student rate ~12/class. Also hear classes at yoga loft and indigo studios are good. Life booker has a 45$ deal on a fitness book where you get a ton of classes to try different gyms. Maybe those are worth a try??

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      I used to go to CPY. I signed up last time I was injured and then quite once I started running again and didn’t have as much time. I love it there. In fact, I may sign up and go to a class today….

      Which one do you go to?

  3. runningthewindycity July 17, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    I’ve always really liked cycling classes. They get my heart rate up and allow me to really push myself. I also like to swim but you’d need access to a pool. My last suggestion would be to bike a lot outside. Explore the city, go for looong rides, and enjoy being outside (one of the perks of running). I hope you feel better soon!

  4. Kristy Hill (@KrisRunTri) July 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    iiiiiiiiiiiiiiick. I hate hearing this news. :( when I was injured last Nov. (one of many times) I started doing hot vinyasa yoga. It’s freaking hard… and a good challenge. I think you would like it. Also..hearing great things about INSANITY. many people on twitter do it and say it is kick ass. Plus it’s dvd’s so you could do it at home… on your own time. I watched an infomercial about this wkend and am really tempted to pull the trigger. You should check it out!!

    keep your head up… it will be better soon and you will be back kicking butt on your runs!

    • Kristy Hill (@KrisRunTri) July 17, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      oh and spinning too… love Spin. Great sweat sesh and cario you desire! Tough for sure if you find a good studio/instructors.

      • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:22 am #

        Definitely LOVE spinning. My gym just doesn’t offer very good times, but I have access to the bikes whenever, so maybe I’ll throw on some tunes and make up my spin class. I’ve actually done that before, and it was actually a really great workout.

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      I LOVE vinyasa yoga, and I think I’m going to rejoin a yoga studio while I’m injured.

      I’ve been thinking about P90x and INsanity for awhile. My friend has a copy, so I may give it a try.

  5. Heidi (@idlehide) July 17, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    I’m in the same boat as you for cross fit. Kenny and I both want to do it, but it would destroy our budget. Knowing you would get results is so tempting though;)

    • Julia July 18, 2012 at 7:27 am #

      If you can, I think it would be great to give a try! I’ve just had so many expenses lately that I can’t do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

