Yoga and eating like a (nonclassy) lady.

21 Jul

Friday workout:  60 minute yoga class.

Wow.  I forgot how much I loved yoga.  Felt so good to get in a rhythm, flowing from one move to another…being forced to slow down and feel each movement.

After class was over, I decided I would sign up for the unlimited month option and try to get there as much as possible over the next month.   All the stretching hurt my foot, but I think it was a “good” pain, and I think the yoga will be good for my recovery, both from a stretching standpoint and a full body strength workout.

Doing as much yoga as I can during the next month.  Tomorrow I’m gonna do the yogasculpt class so that I keep up and increase my  core/full body strength while I am out from running.

Since I chose to do a noon class, I was starving by the time class was over.  Yoga has a way of making you crave fresh food.  Lucky for me, Whole Foods was conveniently on the way home.

After circling the store twice to scout out and try all the samples, I ended up getting a ginormous salad.

Now, I wish I ate like a classy woman, holding her silverware properly, cutting her food into tiny pieces, taking small bites, and appreciating each bit of food.  But I am just not like that.  When I am hungry, I inhale my food, scooping up one large mouthful after another.  I’m like a vulture.  Yesterday I told myself to eat slowly, to carry on the mentality I had from yoga.  I tried, I really did, but after about 5 bites, I had no patience left and scarfed down the rest.  Haha.  So much for looking ladylike, savoring each bite and making it last!  The only person I know who can eat faster than me is Dean!  Seriously, it’s like a magic trick.  If I turn my head for a second while he’s eating, his plate becomes magically clean.  : )

How I feel like I eat when I’m starving.

Source

~

I have a confession to make.  I am clueless when it comes to music.  It’s quite pathetic, because Dean is super knowledgable when it comes to music and the history behind various bands and artists.

When I got home from my 4 to midnight shift Thursday night, Dean was still up, and so we curled up on the couch together with a bottle of wine and started watching tv.  We have this channel that plays old “live” concerts.  Thursday night Nirvana was being featured.  Now I like several of Nirvana/Kurt Cobain’s songs, but even if I didn’t, it didn’t matter….I just loved seeing Dean so passionate about the music and so excited to teach me what he knew about Cobain and the band’s history and the subsequent creation of the Foo Fighters.   I know, I know, I’m being even cornier than I normally am, but there’s just something special about seeing someone you care so much about so deeply passionate and excited about something : )

 

QUESTIONS:

Yoga fan or not?

Eat like an animal or with good etiquette like a royal family member?

5 Responses to “Yoga and eating like a (nonclassy) lady.”

  1. Jenn @ Run It My Way July 21, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    I’m a huge fan of yoga! It was the first form of exercise I could do post-car accident (after at least 6-8 months of not being able to do ANYTHING). By that time every part of my body had gotten so stiff and tight, it was amazing to be able to stretch everything out again and getting things moving. I still love yoga – I really should make more time for it!

  2. kaitwatts July 21, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Just went to yoga myself yesterday morning. Every few weeks I need it bad. I am sure if I went more regularly then I wouldn’t need it so badly.

  3. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner July 21, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I totally eat like an animal. When I’m hungry, there’s just no time for being proper. I’ve tried over and over to like yoga, but it’s just really not my thing. I’m personally more into pilates. I need a workout/activity to be a bit more engaging, and I just haven’t found a yoga class or instructor to do that.

  4. Losing Lindy July 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I eat like an animal too.

  5. runningthewindycity July 22, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    If I’m hungry, nothing can get between me and my food. I’m trying to be more mindful when I eat though!

    I am also clueless about music. I know when I like music but I rarely seek out new bands to listen to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

