Our funniest picture together

22 Jul

Sunday workout:  75 minutes yoga

What.  A.  Week.  So mentally and physically drained.  It started off poorly last Monday and ended fairly poorly yesterday.

Yesterday, Saturday morning, I got called in early, because the ER was so busy.  As I was racing to leave and went out to unlock my bike, I realized someone had f’d up my bike that I had left out the night before.  I had debated taking it into my apartment the night before, but since I got home at 12:30 am from my shift, I figured I’d just keep it locked up outside since I knew I’d be leaving in the morning again.  Apparently that had been a bad idea.

Fortunately, they just bent the front and back brakes, so Dean was able to fix it.  So that was the awesome start to my day.

Then, around 4 in the afternoon when the ER was super busy, our computer system for displaying images and delivering the reports decided to stop working.  It was a mess for awhile because no one could see our reports, and several of the images weren’t even showing up in our queue, so we didn’t even know they had been taken.  Amazing how dependent we are on technology!  As soon as I realized there was a problem, I tried to let as many of the ER residents and attendings know the situation, but some apparently didn’t get the message, and my colleague picked up the phone and literally started getting yelled at by the physician on the other line.  Geese.

So anyway, now that I have a day off and don’t have to spend it in the car driving to Springfield, the full fatigue from the week has set it and I feel like a complete zombie.  Like, I could be totally content not moving from this couch for the rest of the day.  Isn’t it amazing how efficient you can be when you’re working and/or have lots of things to do during the day, and then as soon as the pressure comes off, you become the most inefficient, lazy person ever?  I still have laundry in the dryer downstairs but am too lazy to get off the couch and take ten minutes to get it.  Haha.

I shouldn’t complain about anything, though, given the tragedy that happened in Colorado.  Tons of people had MUCH worse weeks than me.  My heart and prayers go out to the victims and their families.

On a lighter note, two weeks ago during our friend’s wedding weekend, Dean and I were so exhausted after the rehearsal dinner that we both passed out on the half hour bus trip back to our place.  Our friend Bill (the groom) caught this lovely picture of us that makes me burst out laughing every time I see it:

2 Responses to “Our funniest picture together”

  1. Losing Lindy July 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I think it is so sweet that you both fell asleep the same way, and holding hands :)

  2. runningthewindycity July 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Aw what a cute picture! Enjoy your day off, you obviously deserve it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

