One’s soulmate

26 Jul

Wednesday evening workout:  40 minutes elliptical, 20-25 minutes lifting

Thursday morning workout:  60 minutes yoga

I had this great idea that doing yoga post-call would feel really good after sitting in the ER reading room for 12 hours, so I brought my stuff with me to work Wednesday night, and biked straight over over there after I was done in the morning for a 9:00 class.

Yeah…so my idea wasn’t so great.  First of all, I almost fell asleep when I was lying on my matt waiting for class begin.  Then,  I was so dehydrated from drinking pretty much all coffee and no water the night before and the room felt excessively hot, so every time we stood up, I got a major head rush and felt like I was going to pass out.  And third, it ended up being less of a Vinyasa yoga and more of just a hot/Bikram style of a class.  Now, I don’t know all that much about the different style yogas, but I hate the classes where we hold poses for long periods of times.  In fact, I find those classes quite miserable, even when I am well rested and hydrated.   If my first yoga class had been hot/Bikram yoga, I would have never returned!   I prefer the “flowy” style where you connect all the poses and flow from position to position.   That type of yoga I really love, especially when it’s to music, because adding more fluid movement in between poses allows me to add some artistry and style to what I’m doing.  It’s kind of like doing a skating event where you just move from jump to jump with nothing in between (hot yoga) vs a skating program, where you add artistry and character and smooth connecting moves between all your jumps (Vinyasa yoga).

Holding poses like this for what feels like ten minutes at a time in a 100 degree + room with sweat running down my face is not something I enjoy. I prefer to flow from position to position, without holding any one pose for too long.

Source

Anyway, after sweating about a gallon of water out of my system and cursing the instructor in my head every time she made me hold an uncomfortable pose for too long, I made it through the class and biked home.

When I got back to my apartment, I discovered a lovely surprise that Dean left for me before leaving for his business trip earlier that morning:

Roses AND hazelnut coffee.  Yup, he knows how much I love my coffee.  Seeing that totally cheered me up, and his note was the sweetest ever.  Ladies, there are GOOD men out there.  I thought there was no one out there who’d be my soulmate, but at 29, God proved to me that I was wrong when he brought Dean into my life.

Don’t settle or compromise when it comes to love.

Wait for that person who constantly lifts you up and makes you feel good about yourself.

Who makes you feel beautiful when you feel ugly.

Who loves you for who you are and doesn’t try to change anything about you.

Who makes you laugh in your worst moods.

Who never, ever, ever puts you down or insults you in any way.

Who loves the same things you do…

… and even if he doesn’t, still loves doing them because he loves that you love them (Dean took yoga classes with me…)

Who will rearrange his schedule to allow more to see you

Who treats you, your family, your friends, and even total strangers with respect.

Who is more than someone you just have chemistry with….someone who is also your best friend.

I feel so blessed, and I’m so glad I waited those 29 years for someone like Dean.  God has a plan for each and everyone of us, and he doesn’t apply the same timeline to each person, so if you’re single, be patient and keep the faith.

4 Responses to “One’s soulmate”

  1. loramarie03 July 26, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Great list of qualities!! :) And I agree, everyone deserves a GREAT man!!

  2. Losing Lindy July 26, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    love it! I wish I have found a good guy

  3. Heidi (@idlehide) July 27, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    cute post:) Dean really does seem like a fabulous guy and I’m so happy he treats you like a Queen!

  4. kaitwatts July 27, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    Aaww. So cute and so right. About the boy part anyways. On the yoga front, there is a type of yoga called Yin, that is fabulous for athletes. You hold the traditional (not Bikram) poses for 3-5 minutes and it gets into your deep tissue where you hold a lot of tightness and tension from things like running. It’s my favorite. However, I do like the way that you described vinyasa flow-as an art.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

