A day in Nashville

5 Aug

Dean and I were exhausted yesterday and slept in until after 10.  We had the whole day free until the rehearsal dinner, so we decided to explore the area around our hotel, which is near Music Row as well as somewhat near Vanderbilt.

When we first stepped outside yesterday morning, holy crap it felt like a steam sauna!  I HATE humidity!  The air felt so heavy.  Good thing I decided to not waste time styling my hair to wear it down!

We didn’t get very far in our exploration of Nashville.  First stop was a brunch place near our hotel, which had great food and for better or worse, a 2 for 1 special on drinks.

Out for brunch with our friends from Chicago, also here for the wedding.  Bill and Malia on the left are the ones who just got married out near Seattle.  Brian and Kristi are getting married this October.

Although it was a 2 for 1 drink special, I didn’t even make through my one bellini.  I just don’t have the stomach for drinking that I had in college!  haha.  Mostly, I think it was just from still feeling somewhat under the weather and dehydrated from the sinus issues.

We then walked pretty much across the street and hung out for awhile at this other local bar, which was a lot of fun.  We were there for awhile talking, playing bags, and playing matches against each other on the shuffle board.  It was fun….kinda reminded me of being back in college.

Our server insisted that if we were visiting Nashville for the first time, we had to try a Bushwacker drink. She didn’t have any problem convincing us to give it a try.

Good times.

Later that night, by the time the rehearsal dinner was about done at 11:30, I think the full day of drinking left Dean pretty dehydrated and thirsty:

Haha. Dean was a little thirsty : )

On a more serious  note, I’ve had a horrible attendance lately at church.  It’s just been so hard with my schedule the past month and all the traveling.  This morning I tried to spend a little time reading, so I thought I’d share some of the things I read that got me thinking:

“Do your duty, that is best. Leave unto the Lord the rest.”

How often I stress about results and “what’s going to happen” when all I should focus on is doing what I know I should do, and then putting my faith and trust in that whatever happens, is for the best, even if it is not how I foresee it.

“Often small acts of service are all that is required to lift and bless another: a question concerning a person’s family, quick words of encouragement, a sincere compliment, a small note of thanks, a brief telephone call. If we are observant and aware, and if we act on the promptings which come to us, we can accomplish much good.”

So often I get so focused on myself, my to do list, and my goals, when in fact I should just take a moment to slow down and to observe and interact with those around me.  I wonder how many opportunities I’ve lost to engage in an important interaction with someone else because I was moving a million miles a second and so focused on myself and my thoughts.

“To find real happiness we must seek for it in a focus outside ourselves. No one has learned the meaning of living until he has surrendered his ego to the service of his fellowmen. Service to others is akin to duty, the fulfillment of which brings true joy.”

This sorta relates to one of my recent posts about happiness, how so much of our society believes things and accomplishments will bring us joy.   So many people’s goals is to be “happy”, but that cannot be a goal in and of itself.  It is a byproduct of something far greater.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

