Godiva vs Swedish Fish?

8 Aug

Tuesday workout:  40 minutes elliptical, 15 minutes weights, biking around the city running errands

I don’t know the physiology behind it, but being active and working out totally helps temporarily clear my congestion….I definitely felt my best today when I was up and about being active.

So just two more night shifts (tonight and tomorrow), and I’m done with ER for this month!  What does that mean?  Back to a normal schedule, working Monday through Friday from 7-5/5:30.

As much as I hate what working these random shifts does to my body (I don’t mind working nights, but when you mix it in with working days in between, my body gets all confused), it’s nice having random weekdays off, because I feel like I’m able to get so much done, assuming I’m not sleeping.

For instance, I finally had a chance to follow up with my ENT doctor last week.  I was supposed to see him months ago, but we were so busy and already short of staff in the CT Body reading room, so I was afraid to ask for the afternoon off.

This morning I have a dentist appointment.  Not looking forward to it at all.

Yesterday I finally saw a doctor for my heel problem.  The doctor I saw, who is one of the podiatrists who works as part of the Running Institute of Chicago, was fabulous!  Thanks Gina, for your rec!  She confirmed that I had what was now chronic plantar fasciitis, and we came up with a treatment plan.

a)  my orthotics–which she said I definitely needed because my foot is hypermobile and significantly pronates–were completely worn down, so she molded my foot and will be creating new orthotics for me (thankfully my insurance covers this!)

b)  I am to tape my foot at all times, which should keep it more aligned and help take the pressure off of my arch/plantar fascia (it really does make me pronate less!)

c)  After I recover from my surgery, I will go to physical therapy twice/week (hopefully they have evening hours, or I’m screwed)

d)  I am to wear this foot brace at night when I sleep:

 

I get to wear this beautiful thing at night.   Makes my leg look just so attractive, don’t ya think, especially with the two mosquito bites on my shin… : /

The idea behind the foot brace is that it keeps your foot from dorsiflexing at night, which shortens the plantar fascia.  It thus supposedly helps keep scar tissue from forming around the fascia when it is in a shortened, contracted position (that is in part why plantar fasciitis hurts so much during the first few steps in the morning).

~

Last night after running some errands, Dean and I stopped by Bed, Bath, and Beyond to check out some potential air filters for our apartment to help my sinuses.  We didn’t make any big purchases last night, but we did get sucked into BBB’s marketing technique of placing a bunch of candy and chocolate right by the cash register:

I don’t know what is wrong with Dean’s taste buds.  How could anyone choose Swedish Fish over Godiva chocolate??  Seriously, which would you chose?

The Godiva Dark chocolate with sea salt was absolutely to die for, and I was absolutely happy with my choice.  I offered Dean a piece, but was secretly relieved (and shocked) when he declined.  More chocolate for me!

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Godiva vs Swedish Fish?”

  1. runningthewindycity August 8, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I’m glad you finally had your foot looked at and have a treatment plan. Knowing that you’re starting recovery and having a set plan must feel good!

    • Julia August 8, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Yes, just having a plan makes me feel better!

  2. Sue Ordzowialy August 8, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Swedish Fish! Could be that we had a Deli/liquor store “Wally’s” that we took the kids to growing up on Archer AV. In Garfield Ridge and for .25 cents they put 25 fishes in a plastic sandwich bag for you. The store made millions off of us! Then, closed & I am sure retired quite comfortably!! Plus, Dean loves sugar!!

    • Julia August 8, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      haha. Yup, Dean told me all about Wally’s and the 25 cent fishes! He said the ones he got yesterday didn’t live up the ones he got as a kid.

  3. tootallfritz August 8, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Godiva all the way! Not even a contest.

    • Julia August 8, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      I know, right??

  4. Stephanie August 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I wore that boot for plantar fasciitis and it really helped. Good luck!

    • Julia August 8, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      I sure hope so!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

