Engaged! : )

20 Aug

So a lot of you who I am facebook friends with probably saw the news that Dean and I got engaged over the past weekend. We are so excited and are overwhelmed by the response. Thank you so much for all the congrats!!

My best friend and soulmate proposed to me on Friday August 17th. I had NO idea when he was going to propose, although I had suspected it would be within a few months before or after when we moved into together.

When I left for work around 6:30 Friday morning, Dean asked me–as he normally does–when I would be home from work. “Oh, I don’t know, probably around 5:30,” I said.

At the time, he was planning on proposing to me when I got home from work, which I obviously didn’t know, and he was trying to plan when he needed to leave work to pick up my ring and other things to set up for the proposal.

I did not make it easy for him, though, because I completely randomly got done with work at 3:45!! That NEVER happens, and of course the one time I get off super early is when Dean is trying to set up for his proposal. Haha, anyway, as I walked out , I texted him and was like, “Guess who’s done with work and on her way home! Boom!” I then hopped on my bike and started biking home.

Poor Dean saw that and must’ve freaked out, since he was still in the car on his way back towards our place. About half way home, I heard my phone ring. I debated whether I should pull over and pick it up or just ride safely back to our place and call Dean back (who I figured it was). I originally decided on the latter, but then I thought, Hmm, maybe Dean wants to meet me for a happy hour or something since I’m done so early, so I pulled over and called him back.

Dean: Uh, where are you?

Me: I‘m backing home! I’m right be Whole Foods (which happened to be where I pulled over)

Dean: Oh, well….wow, that’s just perfect, because I really would love for you to pick up a sparkling white wine (he was totally trying to stall me).

Me (confused in part because he never drinks sparking sweet white wines): Honey, remember, I picked that sparkling moscato with my parents last weekend. It’s in the fridge.

Dean: Oh, well…I don’t like moscato, why don’t you pick something else out.

Of course I’m not going to turn down a request to buy wine, so I locked up my bike and went into Whole Foods. Fortunately for Dean, I was famished, so I took full advantage of all the samples out and circled the store multiple times trying the samples (have you had their guac??? amazing!), further delaying my return home.

Finally, after picking up the wine and biking home, I got back to our apartment, unlocked my apartment door, and walked in to this:

On our coffee table were roses, Champaign, dark chocolateand candles. Dean was waiting right by his ip0d–which was connected to our apartment speakers–and as soon as I walked in, he started playing one of my favorite songs: Can’t take my eyes off of you by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.

Now, I didn’t suspect anything at first. Dean is super romantic and does stuff like that, but then he took my hands and starting dancing. Part way through our dancing, I was like, whoa, he’s a little too hyper and excited right now, and I started to wonder, is this going to be the day?!

Sure enough, he got down on his knee and proposed : ) I immediately started hugging him, and then after a few seconds I was like, oh crap, I forgot to actually say “yes“. Haha.

We did a toast with the Champagne, and then Dean brought me into our extra bedroom where our big computer is and played me this amazing picture montage he had put together to the Beatles with tons of pictures of us over the years. It was amazing and something I will treasure forever. If I can figure out how to upload it on here, I will.

After that, we went up to our rooftop, where I kept staring in awe at my ring and then called my parents and sister while Dean called his family.

The ring : ) Absolutely love it!

Afterwards, we went to Folklore for dinner, which is where we went on both our first date and our one year anniversary, and then met some of our friends out for drinks and shots in celebration.

A very happy me at Folklore with Dean.

I feel so blessed for finding someone that I love so much and can’t imagine my life without. So many people say how your high school and college years are the best years of your life. Don’t get me wrong…I LOVED those years, particularly college ….definitely some of the best years of my life, but I am SO excited for the life Dean and I will now share together, and I am also so excited to be a part of Dean’s family, whom I absolutely love.

So how did I meet this amazing man I now can’t imagine my life without? Honest answer? Match.com. I should write them and see if they’ll pay for our wedding if we market for them! haha. But seriously, rewind two years ago and I was finishing up my intern year. Dating in medical school and intern year was hard for me because of my schedule.  I decided I had to be a little more proactive if I wanted to potentially meet someone, so that’s why I joined Match. Figured I had nothing to lose.

I went on a few dates in the spring and early summer of 2010. The few guys I went on dates with actually seemed like quality guys, but I just didn’t have that spark with any of them and never went on more than a few dates. Then I started my first year of radiology residency, started focusing on that, and didn’t sign on to Match for months. I even totally forgot my my password. Then one day in September I checked my credit card bill and realized that Match had charged me for another 3 months. I was so pissed at myself for not quitting! I reset my password and figured out how to sign back on with the intention of quitting, which I did (but still now had until November/December for it to expire).

While I was logged on, I noticed that someone had just messaged me the day before (Dean). He was pretty good looking in my opinion : ), seemed down to earth, had similar interests, and (don’t take offense Dean) sorta was a little dorky/goofy in a total genuine and good way in his profile statement, which I absolutely loved because, hello, I’m a total dork.

So, after a few messages, we decided to meet up for drinks in Wicker Park near where he lived. We ended up staying out for hours–like 4-6 hours–just talking and having a good time. Trust me, putting me, a total introvert, in a social situation with someone I have never met and getting me to talk with ease for that long is no minor feat.

Our second date was the Chicago Marathon 2010 Pasta Dinner one week later. We were both running the marathon, so we pasta packed together the night before. I rode my bike there and showed up in a t-shirt, shorts, and baseball hat. Classy, haha, but I guess appropriate for the situation.

Our second date. I look so awkward in that picture. Haha.

And well, we just kept dating, and the rest is history! Thank goodness I didn’t quit my Match membership when I had intended to!!! Had I quit in the summer when I meant to, I would never have met Dean.

27 Responses to “Engaged! : )”

  1. alex m August 20, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Congratulations! That is terrific news. You guys seem like a really great pair

  2. Jayne August 20, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Congratulations It’s been amazing to be a part of your journey! you’re a wonderful couple. Raising a glass to your future together!

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Thank you! It’s been a fun (nearly) two years.

  3. LTaylor August 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    I was at this race 4 months after chemo – I chose this one As 10-10-10 was my 41st bday

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      4 months after chemo?! That is impressive!

  4. Jenn @ Run It My Way August 21, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS to you & Dean, that’s great news!!! Wishing you both all the best together, you make the sweetest couple :)

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      Thank you so much Jenn!

  5. runningthewindycity August 21, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Congrats!! I am so excited for you :)

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thank you! We are very excited! : )

  6. Lora @ Crazy Running Girl August 21, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Congratulations!! The ring is beautiful and what a great story! :)

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks! I can’t stop staring at the ring : P

  7. kaitwatts August 21, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    How exciting! Thanks for sharing all the details. Such a joyous occasion.

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks! It was a great night : )

  8. Pete B August 21, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Congrats. Great story!

  9. Kristy Hill (@KristyH5) August 21, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! And I love that your 2nd date was the Chicago Marathon pasta dinner….perfection!!! Congrats Julia!

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Thanks! I know…the pasta dinner as our first dinner date was pretty fun and perfect in regards to our personalities and interests.

  10. Heidi (@idlehide) August 21, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Congrats!! :D
    A lovely ring and a sweet proposal :)

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks! I think he did a pretty good job with the ring ; ) …I absolutely love it!

  11. Siobhan @ SiobhanMcCarthy.ca August 21, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Congrats on your engagement!! I love how Dean made you a photo montage! And as if your second date was at the Chicago Marathon Pasta Dinner. Too perfect!

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      I LOVED the photo montage and have no idea when he snuck away to do that! and yes, the pasta dinner made a great first dinner date..totally in line for our personalities and interests : )

  12. Losing Lindy August 21, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    Congratulations! This is so awesome!

    • Julia August 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Thank you! : )

  13. Kim Viola August 22, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Thanks for sharing!! I love peoples love stories!! Congratulation on finding your person. Marriage is an amazing, interesting, challenging yet easy experience.

  14. Maggie August 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Congratulations!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy New Year’s from bed and 2012 in review « C'est La Vie - December 31, 2012

    [...] – I got engaged : ) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

