Bachelorette weekend (not mine) and wedding planning

23 Aug

This post honestly has no real point.  Haha.  I’m just up really early and don’t feel like addressing my to do list and getting started with my day yet : )

~

These past couple of weeks have been such a whirlwind.  Actually, it feels like my life has been in fast forward mode ever since last May following our family vacation to California!  I guess I oughta get used to it.  This month (like, this weekend) I have fellowships I need to start applying for.  Next month I’m on IR (which is a super busy rotation), and now there’s wedding stuff to start planning, which I am super excited about but will no doubt take up a lot of time!

Some people have asked about a date yet, and no, we don’t have one yet, but I’m actually looking to do one in early May of next year if that is even possible.   Why?  I have my radiology boards exam, which will be the biggest test I’ve taken in my medical career yet, next September, and I have a mock boards session in June.  Doing it in early May would allow me enough time between my boards and the wedding to allow me to still be able to relax and enjoy the wedding.  If I do it right after the boards, I have a feeling I will get NOTHING done in regards to wedding planning, because I will be studying during every free waking minute of the day, and for various reasons, I don’t want to wait until next winter (2013/14) or spring of 2014.

So anyway, I gotta get planning!  To my married friends, I welcome any and all advice, particularly for planning on a budget!  I think doing a wedding in downtown Chicago is pretty much out of the question due to costs, but any advice is appreciated!

~

Last weekend after Dean proposed to me, we both went our separate ways for a bachelorette/bachelor party weekend with our friends.  One of our good couple friends here in Chicago is getting married this October, so Dean was doing Bachelor party stuff last weekend in Chicago while I drove up to a place near Milwaukee.

The place where we had the Bachelorette party was beautiful!  We stayed at one of my friend’s boss’ homes (yes, he has multiple) and just hung out by the pool and bonfire all day.  Honestly, that is the kind of bachelorette party I would love.  I’m not into the Vegas scene at all, and would love a chill place where I could be with my closest friends with a couple of bottles of wine : )

Kristi’s bachelorette party. Hanging out by the pool.

Diet cherry soda, vodka, and gummy lifesavers on the bottom. Quite a good drink actually! Particularly by the pool side!

Grilling by the pool. I’m not sure who actually did the grilling, but they did a fabulous job. The chicken was delicious!

A beautiful Wisconsin sunset.

~

So when am I going to start writing about running again?!  Haha, between the plantar fasciitis and the surgery, I’ve hardly worked out at all.  I think I’ve lost some leg muscle mass, because all my pants are a lot looser and actually fitting better, even though I really haven’t lost much weight.  I secretly sorta like it, because I HATE shopping for pants because of my body type (I build a lot of muscle in my thighs and glutes relative to the rest of my body), but I don’t want to lose strength!   Hopefully my doctor today will give me the A-ok to start working out again.  I still don’t quite understand why having sinus surgery precludes you from working out, but he was pretty adamant about it during my last appointment, so whatever.

Plans for upcoming races??  Well, I wanted  to do CIM and Boston again this year, but I think I will have to scratch at least one of those due to time and costs with the upcoming wedding.  I can save my Boston admission until 2014.  I really would love to still do CIM, but we’ll see.  I don’t want to overwhelm myself with too much this year with the wedding and boards/work.  Regardless, I DO hope to start running regularly again!!

Alrighty, that’s it for now.  Gotta be at work before 7, so I had better get my butt moving!

5 Responses to “Bachelorette weekend (not mine) and wedding planning”

  1. Arianna H. August 23, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    1. Totally get what you mean about the pants. Skater’s build, I suppose!
    2. Looks like an amazing bachelorette party. My style has changed in the 4 years I’ve been married, so that’s probably what I’d go for too if I were to have one now.
    3. I planned my wedding in just shy of 2 years. Not that we needed that long, but it just worked out best (and we got engaged at 22.) There’s a good book out there called Bridal Bargains which is quite good. If you aren’t too picky, you can buy your dress off the rack and save a ton of money that way. Getting married on a Sunday saves a ton of money (for example, Memorial Day weekend is a great choice with it being a 3 day weekend.) I have friends who have ordered their own flowers (be it fake or real) wholesale online and then either had someone they know arrange them or they took a class and did the flowers themselves. Lots of money saving potential there, but the biggest one is probably picking a Sunday date. Prices go down significantly for venue rentals and food costs since Saturday nights are always the times in high demand. Congratulations again!!

    • Julia August 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Great suggestions. Thanks!

  2. Lora @ Crazy Running Girl August 23, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Fun bachelorette party! I am running Ragnar for mine so totally get the not into Vegas scene. :) Fridays are also really cheap for weddings — I know my cousin is saving 25% off the cost by doing it on a Friday. We are doing a destination wedding in Jamaica which is a fraction of the cost of what we would pay to get married in the U.S. and everyone would pay for travel anyways, so why not go somewhere fun… we thought we’d have about 20 guests, and we have about 40. Yikes! :) Once you start thinking about it, it will be easy to make decisions of your style and where… use all the time in the next few months to get prepared and you’ll be in good shape! We are getting married in October and I have DIY projects left and that’s about it. Oh, and Pinterest is great for planning! :)

    • Julia August 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      That’s awesome that you are running Ragnar for your Bachelorette Party! I spent quite a bit of time on pinterest today. It might become addicting!

  3. Losing Lindy August 24, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    such a beautiful party!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

