My career choice and why Dean is going to kill me ; )

26 Aug

Saturday workout:  getting up from the couch to go to the fridge or bathroom.  ha.  Sad.  : (

I thought maybe my neck would feel better after a good night’s sleep, but I was wrong.  I am still walking/sitting around stuck in this position:

Please excuse the awkward I-just-woke-up-and-have-no-makeup-on face.   It’s just showing that I am stuck in a position with my head slightly twisted to the left and my right shoulder raised (photobooth pictures produce mirror image pictures).  This is so annoying!  I was so looking forward to running yesterday : (  Ok, I’m done, I’m going to stop complaining to y’all and stop focusing on this, I just want you to understand that if you see an excessive number of blog and/or facebook posts from me, it’s because I literally can’t do much else other than sit here on the couch with my computer (I get ADD watching TV).

~

So, I’ve decided to apply for a fellowship in breast imaging, after having thought I would do interventional radiology (IR) for the past several months.  Why?  I like the variety of imaging modalities, the procedures, and the patient contact that is involved in the field.  Technically, you could say the same thing about IR, but what made me lean towards breast imaging were two things in particular:

1.  As I’ve said before, I HATE cancer.  I hate it so much.  I hate what it does to people, both physically and emotional, and the pain it causes both the patient and his/her family and loved ones.  To have a role in my career where I could be directly involved in helping detect cancer before it spreads and thus hopefully save lives would be so rewarding and satisfying to me.

2.  The type of patient contact involved in breast imaging is something I enjoy or at least feel at ease with.  In my opinion, the interaction with the breast imager and the patient is extremely important.  As the radiologist, you are dealing with someone who is often very anxious and scared, because they know they are being worked up for cancer, and they know you are going to be the one to tell them whether or not they have cancer and/or what the next step is.  It is so important as the physician to be patient, caring, and warm and yet direct and straightforward with the patient during this intense and anxiety-filled moment for her as you go over her diagnosis and next steps.  I think (or at least certainly hope!) I do this well.

As I said in my prior post, it’s great when you can tell a patient good news and they’re so happy and relieved that they jump up and hug you, but you’ll also have to deliver news the patient was hoping not to hear.

Someone commented on my prior post and made the following statement, which I thought was really great (this is a direct quote, except for that I replaced “rotations” with “career”):

Do not choose your career based upon how many negative conversations you will have to endure – choose the career based on how many lives you get to show your love to.

I just think that is such a wonderful comment and something I will keep in mind with EVERY patient I interact with….and really any person period!

~

Now onto another deep topic:  Dean is going to kill me (he’s currently at the Sox game):

I ate half of a pretzel bun–the best half–and stuck the other half back in the bag.  Haha.  He HATES it when I do that, but come one, what’s a girl supposed to do when she’s craving bread but doesn’t want a whole 250 calorie bun?  All I wanted was a little bread to soak up the remaining sauce on my plate from dinner, and I hate to throw away unused food that could be eaten some other time, you know?

Hopefully he won’t care, because I picked up his absolute favorite candy at the store today : )

4 Responses to “My career choice and why Dean is going to kill me ; )”

  1. alex m August 26, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Are these fellowships local or is there a chance you’ll have to move?

    • Julia August 26, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      There are fellowships here in Chicago!

  2. Losing Lindy August 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    omg that bag is huge!

    • Julia August 26, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      haha, I know, right? When I saw it I knew I had to buy it for Dean : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

