Stolen bike seat and considering a road bike

29 Aug

Tuesday workout:  nothing : (

Man, I guess if there was any time to have had this heel issue and surgery, this summer was the perfect time!  Things are so busy right now that I think it would have been really difficult to have tried to train for something this fall.  I have been getting up at 4:30 to respond to emails and get some other stuff done like work on fellowship stuff (and maybe a quick blog post ; ) before leaving for work.  I sent of a gazillion emails to get more information about wedding venues, and so it takes awhile to go through all those!  After work I have been trying to do more of the same stuff, do work related things, and spend time with Dean.

Don’t you hate when you consider doing something, and then don’t act on your instinct and totally regret it??  So, remember how Dean and I went on that long run the other day.  Well, that day when I got home from work, I thought I’d be going back out on my bike, and so I didn’t bring it up to my apartment.  After our run when we got back to our apartment, I saw my bike and said to Dean, “You think I should bring it in?”  Because it was already relatively late and I’d have to go up to my apartment, grab my lock key, come back downstairs and get the bike, and bring it back up, I decided it would be fine leaving it out there for one night since I’d be leaving really early in the morning for work the next day.  Well, yesterday morning when I went to grab my bike, I realized someone had stolen my seat.  Dean was super amazing and drove me to work.  After work, we went over to the bike shop and bought a new seat and seat lock.  Fortunately, the whole thing only cost around $50, and Dean got it all set up for me….I can’t stand the idea of not having bike!  I’d feel so handicapped in regards to getting places.  I HATE riding buses, because I am impatient and hate waiting for them, and if I took a cab everywhere, I’d go broke.

While at the bike store, Dean and I took a look at some of the road bikes.  We both really want to get more into bike riding, and so we’re looking into getting some road bikes.  Boy are they expensive!  Even the “entry” road bikes for first time road bikers on sale cost over $1000.

Any big bikers out there?  Suggestions on road bikes??

btw, my neck is still super sore, but MUCH better.  I went to Whole Foods to get a quick 10-15 minute massage….it hurt like absolute hell when she massaged it out, but really helped.  The other thing I did this weekend was when the acute part of the spasm wore off a little bit, I went to Bed Bath and Beyond and bought a specialized pillow with neck support.

4 Responses to “Stolen bike seat and considering a road bike”

  1. Losing Lindy August 29, 2012 at 6:01 am #

    I really want to check out your whole foods!

    • Julia August 29, 2012 at 6:05 am #

      Haha. yes, our whole foods is quite amazing, I must admit. You can pay for a chair massage for 5 minute increments, which beats paying for a whole hour massage somewhere else!

  2. kaitwatts August 29, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Yes, road bikes are expensive-but a very worthy investment. I would recommend-especially with your neck and back problems-getting a bike fit first. That may help you decide on a bike or tweak the bike that you do decide on. If a bike doesn’t fit right or is uncomfortable then you can have even more pain.

  3. runningthewindycity August 29, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Check out the Jamis brand. My road bike is an entry level Jamis and I only spent $750. Also look for used bikes. As long as the frame fits you and is in good shape you can fix the tires, handlebars etc. for relatively cheap. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

