Sunday Funday

16 Sep

Sunday workout:  

50 minute interval session on elliptical using hand weights

10 mile bike ride through Waterfall Glen

This weekend my dad came up last minute to look at a few wedding venues with us and go over the specifics of our budget.  I don’t know how my dad does it.  He had just gotten back from a West Point reunion event on the West Coast, flew to Dallas the next day for a business meeting, then flew back to Kansas and then out here all on the same day, flew back to Kansas this evening, and then has another business meeting in Iowa this week.  My father’s work ethic and values are something I so greatly admire in him.  He is such a role model to me…the way he has been as a parent, so very involved in our lives growing up, and the way he works so extremely hard at his job.

Anyway, I was so glad he could come up (although sad my mom couldn’t come)!

Saturday night, after looking at a couple of venues, we bought some food at Whole Foods to grill out on our rooftop:

Sesame coated salmon bites. We had these with grilled vegetables.

It was a beautiful, cool evening.

Sunday morning, after I finished working out, Dean, my father and I went out for brunch in Logan Square at Lula Cafe, which is near the church we now go to.  The food was delicious….so were their bloody maries!

Dean and I at Lula Cafe.

We walked over to our church where we met Dean’s parents.  It was their first time coming with us to church, and the first time my father met them!  The service was fabulous.  I just love this church and the pastor there.  When I go to church, I don’t go because I want to feel at peace or comforted or feel good about myself for going to church.  When I leave a church service, I want to feel challenged, and perhaps uneasy.  Why?  Because it means the pastor made me THINK…he made me aware of my shortcomings, and he made me leave feeling challenged and wanting to improve the gap between where I currently am and where I could be as a person.  Becoming self-aware makes you realize just how much you fall short, which then leads to the uneasy feeling.   Of course, though, along with the uneasy feeling and self awareness is the Hope, Faith and gratitude that naturally follows when one realizes the depth of God’s love despite our shortcomings.

Me and my father.

After the service we all strolled around the Logan Square Farmer’s Market for an hour or so.

After talking some finances with my father  Sunday afternoon (he is a banker, btw), Dean and I drove him to the airport, and then we continued on to Waterfall Glen for a little evening trail bikeriding.  Biking in the evening was absolutely beautiful!  Below are a few pictures:

I’m so helpful. I just stare at Dean and take pictures while he unloads the bikes. Haha.

After we got back, Dean cooked some vegetables and portobella mushrooms.  I don’t know how he does it, but they always turn out fabulous, and he doesn’t use even a single drop of butter or oil…just the heat from the stove.  Amazingingly tasteful and amazingly healthy.

Yummmmmmm

2 Responses to “Sunday Funday”

  1. Losing Lindy September 17, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    looks like a great weekend

  2. Lora @ Crazy Running Girl September 17, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Your photos are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

