Exploring Chicago on the run and my gorgeous looking arms

21 Sep

Thursday workout:  ~7 mile run with Dean

I’m not going to say how long it took us, because we were just taking our sweet time enjoying and exploring the city.  We found some streets in the city that I had never been on before….I just love seeing new sites and seeing our beautiful city from new and different viewpoints!

The only bad thing about the run was when this happened:

I dropped my camera and the screen broke. It was actually quite funny when it happened, because I dropped and it bounced onto my shoe. Since I was running I ended up kicking and it hit the cement a second time. Poor camera. That must’ve hurt. Dean just rolled his eyes at how much of a klutz I can be ; )

I dropped my phone.  It still works just fine, but I broke part of the screen.  My last 3 cameras have all passed away from traumatic injuries caused by myself over a span of maybe 3-4 years.   My father and Dean say I should be more careful.  I agree with that, but at the same time how many people take their camera with them on runs, bike rides…everywhere!  I literally take it with me on EVERY run, because I don’t want to pass up a beautiful site or viewpoint, so my argument is if you divide the amount of cameras I go through by how much I use them, I’m really doing quite well.  I mean…..of course someone’s camera will last forever if it sits in a drawer for the majority of the year!  I get good use out of mine!

Thankfully, the Canon cameras I use are relatively inexpensive (<200), and when Dean got me this most recent camera after I dropped and broke my last camera last winter, he got me a two year warranty that covered dropping it.  Smart boy.

~

So, any hospital workers out there use Avagard as a hand sanitizer at their hospital?

I HATE this stuff!

I’ve always had a lot of allergies, but most of them are airborne allergies.  The one agent that my skin is incredibly allergic to is this dam$ hand sanitizer they use at my hospital.  I knew I was allergic to it, but the other day I was going into a more invasive procedure that required that I either use Avagard for extra sanitation or scrub in the “old fashioned” way.  Since hardly anyone ever scrubs in the old way with a sponge and water, I couldn’t find any povidone-iodine scrub brushes and had no choice but to use the Avagard, knowing that my forearms would break out in a rash.  It unfortunately ended up being a lot worse than I thought, waking me up in the middle of the night with intense itching.

Want to see how horrible and disgusting my arms look??  No?  Well it’s your lucky day, because I’m going to show you anyway:

My right arm yesterday morning.

My left arm the day before.

Beautiful, right?  ha.  It wasn’t getting any better for several days, so last night I took some leftover prednisone I had from my sinus issues and lathered on the cortisone.   Feels (and looks!) much better this morning!

~

Below are the pics from Dean and my run last night:

River West neighborhood.

West Loop neighborhood.

South Loop neighborhood.

Taken from Roosevelt Rd.

Taking a short break on a bench by the water near the museums.

The don’t-mess-with-us look. Ha.

Picture of Dean taken during another break in Millennium Park to take in the scenery. Good thing I’m not training for anything right now with all the breaks and picture taking!

Millennium Park.

Wrigley Building

Our view as we ran along the Chicago River.

View from Wacker Drive.

On our way back home. Poor Dean was starving by this point, but I kept making him stop so that I could take pictures ; )

2 Responses to “Exploring Chicago on the run and my gorgeous looking arms”

  1. hemingwayrun September 21, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    Fantastic pictures!

  2. thedancingrunner September 21, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Love these pics! I definitely love to stop and take photos of the sunrise/sunset while running. Even if I’m training for something! It’s worth it! ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

