Caught in the act….(of leaving work early, that is)

22 Sep

Don’t you hate it when the one time you do something wrong is when someone sees you?  The past two weeks I’ve been working hard on this IR rotation, doing whatever cases I can (did my first chest port placement all by myself yesterday with no one else scrubbed in!), and not leaving until there’s nothing more I can help out with.  Since it’s been the first half of this rotation, I’ve been hanging out in the rooms where the more basic procedures are being done, so I’ve been working directly with fellows but not with the attendings.

Well yesterday, Dean and I had a wedding in the suburbs to go to.  It was the ONE day I had to leave a little early from this rotation.  I went into what should have been an easy, 15 minute case yesterday afternoon that ended up needing an attending to get involved with, because it ended up being a lot more complicated than any one thought.   After the attending left and we were having things reset up in the room, the fellow I was working with was like, “you know, this is going to take at least another hour, you should go if you have other stuff to do (my staying wouldn’t be helping him out, it would just be for my interest).”   I actually really wanted to stay for the rest of the case, and even if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have even thought of leaving, but because of the wedding, because my staying wouldn’t help the fellow get done any quicker, and because there weren’t that many cases in general that still had to be done, I reluctantly decided I should go since we were picking up other people to drive to the wedding.

Of course, as I was walking out of the room around 4:30, I ran into that one attending who helped us out who was like, “Where are you going??” I’m sure I looked like the biggest slacker in his eyes.  It sucks.  Every day over the past two weeks I’ve been doing all I can to help out with stuff.  Of course he hasn’t seen that, and he didn’t see that I was the last person aside from the fellow on call still in the IR suite doing a procedure the day before.  The first time I interact with him, he sees me leaving early.  Ughhh.  Sucks.  It’s one thing to look bad in front of someone in regards to your skills/knowledge, but when it reflects on your personality and work ethic, I just hate it, because I always put a lot of effort into what I do.  Whatever.  Sorry for my ranting, I was a little worked up the whole situation last night.

We didn’t make it to the ceremony part of the wedding which started at 6, but we did make it to the cocktail hour and dinner:

We were both really, really tired (I had gotten up at 4 that morning).  I only had 2-2.5 glass of wine over 3 hours, but we decided since we were both so tired that the safest thing to do was stay in the suburbs near the wedding site over night rather than attempt to drive back into the city, so that’s what we did.

The next morning, we both felt a little awkward walking out of the hotel.  We hadn’t planned on staying over night out there, so we didn’t bring any change of clothes or anything, so there I was at 9 in the morning walking out of the hotel with Dean wearing a black dress and stilettos with messy looking hair and makeup.  Haha.

Our morning look didn’t stop us from going to a nearby diner for breakfast.  The place we went to was awesome!  Instead of bringing bread to your table before your meal comes out, they brought out a bowl of freshly made miniature donuts:

I’ve been really sloppy with my eating habits lately and so I’m trying to be better, so there were some major battling going on in my head:

Come on, it’s ok to have another one, they’re so small!

Don’t do it!  It’s a slippery slope.  One more will turn into two more, and then three more….

I ended up having one and then made Dean put the bowl on his side of the table where I couldn’t reach it.   It took so much discipline because those donuts were dam$ good, freshly made and still warm…..

For breakfast I ate healthy and had scrambled egg whites with fruit instead of the potatoes and then got lox/smoked salmon on the side.  It was delicious.

The coffee was great and much needed, too:

Our waitress tried to refill my cup when she noticed it was half gone, but I quickly grabbed my coffee….I just hate it when they do that, because I have a specific amount of creamer and splenda that I put in my coffee to make it taste just the way I want it to, and when they refill it, it totally throws off the ratio!

~

QUESTIONS:

Anyone else hate it when your coffee gets refilled before you’re done with it?

Favorite type of donut?

I like the kinds showed in the picture, with sugar on the outside.  I don’t like the ones that overly sweet and have frosting on the outside.

Has anyone else had an excessive amount of weddings to go to this year?

I guess that’s what happens when you’re in your late 20s/early 30s.  I need to start a savings account just for attending weddings!  We have another one in KC in two weeks and then another one in Chicago two weeks after that!  

 

3 Responses to “Caught in the act….(of leaving work early, that is)”

  1. Losing Lindy September 22, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    That looks like Juicy-O

    • Julia September 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Haha. Yup!

      • Losing Lindy September 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

        If I knew you were nearby, I would have dropped by and said hi ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

