It’s official!

23 Sep

Sunday workout:  11 mile run, 1 hr 30 minutes

Today’s run was the most I’ve ran since since last May when I did the Flying Pig Marathon followed by the Chicago Spring Half Marathon the following week.  It felt sooooo good to be out there in the cool fall weather, listening to my music and getting in the zone.  I just absolutely loved every minute of it.  My goodness have I missed training and my weekly long runs!  My stamina needs a lot of work, but it will come back.  I’m not trying to achieve any pace goals right now, just build up the stamina and add a little bit of time to my runs each week.  Today I set out with the intent to run for one hour and thirty minutes.  I didn’t let myself bring my camera with me, because I wanted to run the entire time (and my camera was broken anyway), and I had my Garmin set to where I could only see how long I had been running and not my pace.  I just don’t want to focus on pace right now.  I actually ended up completing 11 miles pretty much exactly at 1 hr 30 minutes on the dot.  My heel and arch still hurt, but it’s manageable right now, much better than it was, so anyway, I’m pretty pumped about building up my running base again, and sooooooo…..

…I’ve decided my race plan for the year:

–October 6th:  Half Marathon Fort Leavenworth, KS:  Not racing this one, that’s for sure.  It will probably be my PW half marathon time, but that’s ok. I’m going to be home that weekend for a wedding, so now I can drink wine and enjoy good food without feeling too guilty ; )  No really, though, I love exploring new areas while on the run, and it gives me something to look forward to in terms of my training/running.  Just going to enjoy myself.

****UPDATE:  APPARENTLY THIS IS ACTUALLY ON 10/13/12 : (  GUESS I WILL HAVE TO MAKE UP MY OWN HALF MARATHON COURSE FOR ME ONLY****

–December 2nd:  California International Marathon (CIM), Sacramento, CA.  I just LOVED this race last year and really want to do it again.  Again, not racing this one…may be close to another PW, but again, it gives me something to look forward to and brings a greater purpose to my runs.

–April 15th:  BOSTON BABY!  I will not be going for any PR for this one–that’s for sure–but I will hopefully be in better shape by then and hope to at least have a decent time for this one.

So excited!!  I just have to stay healthy and keep in mind that this is not the year for me to push it with the running….too many other things going on between wedding planning, residency and boards next year.

~

Today we had some business to take care of in the suburbs (wedding contract!), so we met Dean’s sister Emily for lunch at an all-you-can-eat sushi place:

I don’t think I’ve ever felt so full after sushi!  Good thing I had stretchy jeans on ; )

Afterwards, we all headed over to sign the contract for our wedding!  It’s official….we will be getting married on May 24th, 2013, the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend!  

We took some informal save-the-date pictures today with Emily’s iphone while we were there.  Which one do you like best?

If you know me or have read some of my other posts, you probably know where we’ll be having our wedding, but since this is a public blog, I edited out the location on the photos, so that’s why my dry erase board looks a little weird in the pictures below.

5 Responses to “It’s official!”

  1. Erica A September 24, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    There is a half in libertyville on 10/6 or are you in KS that day? Stacy and I are doing it w/some friends.

    • Julia September 24, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      My goodness…you two are machines!! How many halfs have you two done this year?! I’ll be in Kansas that weekend. Maybe another one! Keep my updated on your racing calendar!

  2. Jenn @ Run It My Way September 24, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    ahh your save the date pics are SO cute, I love that idea!!! Haha if Ryan ever get on the ball and pops the question, I’m totally making him do this :-P

  3. Losing Lindy September 24, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    The one of you guys kissing, and it is in the arboretum??

  4. Kristy (@KristyH5) September 25, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    lots of great news in this post!!! happy for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

