To Garmin or not to Garmin and my new phone!

26 Sep

Tuesday workout:  6 mile TM run, 7.0 mph @ 1% incline 

This run was done late at night (started at 9 pm) after a long day while I was doing laundry.   It was one of those workouts that definitely would not have happened had I not had a planned marathon in two months.   I would have instead crashed on the couch while my laundry was being done.  That’s why for me, having long term goals I’m planning for like a marathon keeps me so much more consistent.  It gets my butt moving whether I’m exhausted or not.  Instead of waiting for the best time to run when I’m energetic and have time, knowing I have an event coming up forces me to get my  sh*% done whenever I have the time, regardless of how I feel.

And you know what, despite having been up since way too early yesterday morning, I ended up having a very enjoyable run that flew by!   I kept the pace very, very easy.

MEASURING HOW HARD YOU ARE RUNNING

There are couple of ways I monitor how hard I’m running:

1.  Heart rate

2.  How hard I’m breathing:  One of my rules is that for whatever distance I’m planning, I should be able to breath comfortably through my nose with my mouth closed for half of the run.   I find that to be a good marker, at least for myself.  If I’m being forced to huff and puff with my mouth open two miles into a ten mile run, I’m setting myself up for failure later.

Yesterday I wanted to do a very easy run, so I ran the entire run breathing through my nose with a relatively slow perceived respiratory rate.  It’s kinda nice to rely on some internal markers during my run for once rather than obsessively looking at my Garmin to see what my pace and/or heart rate is!

My Garmin seems to be on its last leg, and you know what?  If it dies on me, I may not replace it.   What??  Yup.  Part of it’s money.  I mean, if I had tons of money to throw around, I’d probably go ahead and buy a new one, but I’m kind of liking not depending on it and not looking down at my wrist every minute of my run.  Plus, I think it’s good to learn to focus on how you FEEL and not what some digital face on your watch tells you.

There was one thing I DID need to replace yesterday:  my phone.  I dropped it during my run last week and this happened:

Yes, I broke the screen on my camera and iphone in the same week.  #Imaklutz.

I could’ve gotten a 32 mb iphone 5 for $299, but honestly, I don’t see much of a difference between the iphone 5 and the iphone 4S other than a larger screen and slightly faster internet, so I went with the iphne 4s for $99.  Just didn’t see the need to shell out an additional $200 more just to say I had the iphone 5.

Going from an iphone 3 to an iphone 4s is incredible!  I LOVE my new phone.  One of the biggest differences besides speed is the quality of pictures and the ability to turn the camera lens so that it’s facing you.  They make taking pictures of yourself and/or with others so much less awkward.  Clearly an important feature for your phone:

New phone! Testing out the feature where you can reverse the camera lens so that you can see yourself when you take the picture. My iphone 3 did not have this feature.

This was actually taken with Dean’s iphone 4 last week.

Ok fine, maybe the pictures turn out even more awkward ; )

QUESTIONS

Would you survive without your Garmin?

Anyone have the new iphone 5?  How do you like it?

3 Responses to “To Garmin or not to Garmin and my new phone!”

  1. Stephanie September 26, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Invest in an Otterbox. It has saved the life of my phone :)

  2. Kristy (@KristyH5) September 27, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    I would go no Garmin. I haven’t been using the pace mechanism all summer. But I do like the GPS so you can track mileage. They just came out with a cheaper one. Also, I have the Nike Sportswatch and I like it better than my Garmin 110. So I would recommend that if you were going to get something new.

  3. Urban Running Girl October 2, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I have a 4s and I too don’t see many differences. My spouse has the new 5. It’s really light…which I don’t actually see as a good thing for me…the lighter something is, the likelihood of me losing it as I won’t realize it’s missing. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

