KC!!

10 Oct

Holy crazy busy.   I feel like my life has been one big whirlwind lately.  This morning I was pissed at myself for “sleeping in” until 5:30 and thus missing my chance for a workout today.  Then I was like are you crazy…pissed about getting up “late” at 5:30.  Ha!  Sometimes I need take a breath and take a step back to realize how ridiculous I can be at times….the expectations so many of us set for ourselves and the way we react when we don’t achieve them can be excessively harsh.   I know there are a lot of you out there like me…those of you who tend to be your own harshest critic and enemy.   Sometimes I have to think to myself, If you were your best friend, would you yell and beat your best friend up in a similar situation?  Often times, it would be ridiculous, right?  So why do we do that to ourselves??

Anyway, it’s been a jam-packed past week (month for that matter).  I got home around 8ish last Thursday night.  Dean and my two year anniversary was October 2nd, but because of my busy month, we had decided to celebrate it on Thursday.   I was hoping to get home a little earlier Thursday night, but c’est la vie.  Anyway, when I did get home, though, Dean had this awesome gift waiting for me:

A framed poster from the 2010 Chicago Marathon!  Our first date was the Saturday before that marathon, and then our first dinner date was the pasta dinner the night before the marathon, since we were both running it.

The next day (Friday) I got up at a ridiculous 2:30 in the morning to pack (yes, so I’m a procrastinator) and then make a 6:00 am flight to KC!  We were headed back in town for a friend’s wedding.  Here are some pics from the weekend:

We took a Boulevard Brewery Tour Friday afternoon.

Dean and my mom. My mom, who does not normally like beer, even found a beer she likes (Tank 7 and 80 acre).  P.S.  Do you like the facial hair Dean’s growing in?  I like it, although he is thinking of shaving all but a mustache for “movember”, which I am opposed to.

Highly suggest this beer. Even my mom liked it, and Dean loved it, too, and he is a huge beer snob.

The wedding was at Crown Center

All of us used to figure skate together back in the day!

Dean and I had a great time dancing.

Our family dog, Molly. I just love her and miss her so much when I’m here in Chicago. Sweetest thing ever!

Dean and I took her for a walk. I know, I know…this is a super exciting blog post. I’m sure you want to know all about our walk with Molly, but I’m going to have to leave you in suspense.

Saturday morning we spent hours at our favorite local coffee shop. I just love relaxing weekend mornings!

Sunday afternoon after watching the Chiefs lose, we went to Jack Stack for some delicious KC BBQ.

 

QUESTIONS

1.  Cat or dog person, or neither?

I love both, but I am highly allergic to cats, and I grew up around dogs, so I’d have to say I’m a dog person.  Dean and I wish we could have on here in Chicago, but our apartment doesn’t allow it.

2.  BBQ fan?  If you’re from KC or Chicago, which is your favorite place?  

3.  How do you like your coffee:  black, cream and sugar, only fancy lattes, french press?

My favorite is French pressed.  If it’s not french pressed, then I have a tendency to want to flavor it with cream and sugar, although I’m trying to get myself used to drinking it black.

2 Responses to “KC!!”

  1. runningthewindycity October 11, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    What a fun weekend!

    Chicago Q has great BBQ in the city. They even bring out complimentary housemade pickles and chips while you look over the menu!

    • Julia October 14, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      I’ve been there, but wasn’t super impressed. However, I went the first week they opened, so maybe they weren’t up to par yet. Have you been to Lillie Q? That’s my favorite place in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

