Running in the rain and nightmares

14 Oct

Saturday workout:  14 mile run.

It pretty much rained during my entire run, and you know what…I LOVED it.  There’s something sorta exhilarating when running in inclement weather.  It makes me feel like a kid again….dodging (and jumping into) big puddles and getting all muddy and messy.  I loved every minute of it.  There were a few periods where it was just drizzle, so I managed to whip my phone out of the ziplock bag and take a few pics:

A silly, sorta scary pic I took at my half way point to let Dean know that I was ok and that I was having a great time running outside.
Three essentials for running in the rain: a hat, some sort of waterproof vest/cover up if it’s cold, and a ziplock bags to protect your electronics!  I’m obsessed with this waterproof, windproof best from Nike I got years ago and still wear all the time.  It’s probably my favorite and most used  piece of running clothing that I own.

This morning (Sunday), I woke up at 5:30.  I tried to go back to sleep for another hour, but I was in such a panic that I just couldn’t.  I was panicked because of this stupid nightmare I was having.  So usually during times when I’m particularly busy and more stressed, I have recurrent dreams about showing up to a skating competition and having to compete in front of everyone with me not having skated in three years….like…I’m expected to do double axels and triples, and I’m freaked out because I’m so unprepared and worried about what everyone will think when they see how bad I’ve gotten and how I will let people down.  Well this morning I had a dream that I was supposed to give a presentation at work in front of everyone, but my slides weren’t yet done, and I was in a panic trying to add last minute text and pictures to my slides.  That’s when I woke up.  In my half-sleep state, I kept telling myself to stop worrying and that it was just a dream, but I didn’t believe myself and so then I fully woke up.  Haha.

So here I am, blogging and drinking coffee on a still pitch black Sunday morning.   I could complain about being up so early, but you know what?  I actually really enjoy it, as this is my favorite time of day, so thank you nightmare!  I’ve now had time to relax and blog a little bit, and am now about to head down and do laundry while working out.  Much to do today, so I’m glad to be getting some of this stuff done early, before church!

~

QUESTIONS

1.  Favorite piece of running gear/clothing?

My Nike vest, as described above.

2.  Do you have a recurrent  dream?

3.  If it’s raining outside, do you run outside or stick to the TM?

 

 

4 Responses to “Running in the rain and nightmares”

  1. hemingwayrun October 14, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    Lovely pictures!

    • Julia October 14, 2012 at 7:00 am #

      Thank you! I just love the changing leaves of the fall.

  2. Losing Lindy October 14, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I like running in the rain, only if I can come home and change..not running a race and getting into my car all muddy and wet

    • Julia October 14, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      Very true. I am lucky in that I finished my run at my gym, hopped in the sauna to warm up and dry off, and then made Dean pick me up ; )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

