A marathon in 7 weeks and the biggest vegetables ever

15 Oct

Sunday workout:  Recovery workout:  15 minute walk/run on TM, 20 minute biking, 15 minute weights.

I did a really crazy thing today:  I signed up for the California International Marathon.  This might be incredibly stupid given I haven’t ran consistently since May, but I think I can pull it off, assuming I take it slowly and don’t let my pride get in the way.

My final decision depended on whether or not I could pull of 14 miles this weekend and how I would feel the next day (today).  Although I was a bit sore and stiff, my heel surprisingly didn’t really hurt at all!

The marathon is in 7 weeks away.  It may be a PW, but you know what, I’m just happy to be running again and to have something to inspire me : )  And if I have to drop out and not run it, so be it.

Today Dean and I did a little shopping.  We first headed over to Best Buy and I bought myself a new camera.  Yay to having a camera again (I don’t count my phone as a camera even though it does take good pics)!!  I went something like THREE weeks without a Canon camera.  It was just horrible without my constant companion.  Ha, ok kidding (sorta).  Anyway, my old one broke, and they couldn’t fix it, so under my warranty–which Dean had smartly purchased for the klutzy me–I got to pick out a new one!   Since they didn’t have the same one I had before, I decided to pay a little more and upgrade to a nicer model of the one I had before, which they had on sale:

I just love Canon cameras and can’t wait to start taking pictures with it (pictures below were still taken with my iphone)!    And don’t worry, I bought a protective case for it (and renewed my warranty) for when I run so when I inevitably drop it ten times during the next month, it won’t break : )

Our next shop was grocery shopping.  Now, for those of you not from Chicago, we have have this amazing little grocery store that sells the cheapest produce ever…..AND the biggest ever!  Take a look at the size of this butternut squash:

And this carrot:

They must put their vegetables on steroids!!  Please, no dirty comments ; )

For dinner we had a colorful, lean meal composed of zucchini, carrots, and mushrooms that we had just purchased at Stanley’s:

5 Responses to “A marathon in 7 weeks and the biggest vegetables ever”

  1. Erica A October 15, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    The veggies look great but weren’t you and Dean starving an hour later? Just curious!

    • Julia October 15, 2012 at 5:39 am #

      Well, I’ve been eating ~5 small meals/day rather than 3 big meals, so around 4:45 I had some meat with my “meal”. I don’t like to eat a heavy meal right before I go to bed, so for our “second dinner,” we eat really lean. That being said, I try to have protein with every meal, and so do you seethe mozzarella roll in the pic? We had slices of that with wine while we were preparing the food.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Losing Lindy October 15, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    That squash is as big as you!

  3. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner October 15, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    I really need to get a new camera too! I’m probably going on a year, just using my phone as my camera!

    • Julia October 18, 2012 at 4:28 am #

      Canon is the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

