First tempo run and an annoying Garmin

18 Oct

Thursday workout:  6-7 mile run, 3-3.5 of which were tempo

This was the first tempo run I’ve done since sometime in April, and thus the first time I really pushed myself in a run.  It was also the first time I had to put gloves on to run this year:

I have no idea why I felt compelled to show you that I was wearing gloves. I guess I was excited by the fact that they matched my shorts and hat. Call me weird? Come on….you have to appreciate the little things in life, like matching gloves! Ok, fine. I am weird.

I wish I could say it felt awesome, but frankly, it was just downright hard (which I guess is the point of a tempo run).  I just kept my eyes focused on something ahead and kept yelling at myself to keep on pushing.

A half mile into my tempo run, this happened:

 

Stupid Garmin,  It just can’t hold a charge anymore!  At least this time it didn’t go crazy on me and start obnoxiously beeping for 20 minutes straight like last time!  I was seriously ready to throw it in the lake when that happened last time with the beeping!

So anyway, I have no idea how fast I ran, but all I know is that it felt subjectively hard.  I’m hoping to make it 16 this weekend.  We’ll see…

Speaking of this weekend, I cannot tell how excited I am to have no plans or commitments!  I am so excited to just have a leisurely two days to catch up on things at my own pace.

Tonight, right before I sat down to write this, I noticed that the skyline looked kinda cool with the clouds rolling across the sky, so of course I grabbed my camera and took a few pics, even though I’ve taken pictures of this same view millions of times.  Anyway, here they are:

 

 

Alright, I can barely keep my eyes open.  Good night all.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

