Training under less than ideal circumstances

21 Oct

Saturday workout:  16 miles!

When I first woke up Saturday morning, my legs felt like bricks from spinning class I had doen the night before…. which is exactly how I wanted them to feel going into my long run!  When I’m training for a race, I want to get used to running under less than ideal circumstances.  You can’t control what’s going to happen on race day, so I want to be prepared for anything.

That’s why I like to do an intense spinning class the night before.  I want to train myself to make it through a long run on tired legs.

That’s why I’ve done long runs after a night shift….I want to train myself to run when I’m exhausted.

That’s why I will run when I don’t feel my best (unless I’m truly sick…you have to use common sense)…. you may have a cold on marathon day.

That’s why I will run outside no matter how yucky the weather is…. you can’t control whether it will be raining, snowing, extremely hot, windy, etc. on marathon day.

For my run yesterday, Dean was planning on running 8 miles, so he joined me for the first 4 miles.  Because my leg muscles were so tired from the spinning class the night before, it took me about five miles for my legs to wake up and start doing their job.  I think they were hoping I  would quit, but they should know better than that!  ; )  So Dean and I took it slow, stopping briefly here and there to enjoy how beautiful Lincoln Park is this time of year and to take pictures.  Once Dean and I split at 4 miles, I decided the fun was over and started getting more serious….not letting myself stop to take anymore pictures and making my legs move a little faster.  Finally at around 5 miles, things started to feel a little easier, and it ended up actually being a good (although hard) run!

Here are some pics from my iphone/instagram:

Fortunately for me, my gym is less than a half mile from my apartment, and they have a nice sauna I was able to warm up in : )  (it wasn’t that cold out yesterday–40s/50s–but when you’re wet with sweat and suddenly stop running, you get REALLY cold).

I know you were just dying to see a picture of my legs ; )
My favorite part of the “run”: relaxing in the sauna with my feet propped up on the wall. Yes I have shorts on. No, there was no one else in the sauna with me to witness me taking a picture of my legs ; )

After stretching and warming up in the sauna, Dean picked me up at the gym and we headed straight over to Whole Foods to get some food in our stomachs.

This is a pic of an a la carte caramel apple making table at Whole Foods.  Is this not an amazing idea?!

Who buys these many carrots at once?!  I guess it’s for making carrot juice?

2 Responses to “Training under less than ideal circumstances”

  1. lizzyj1305 October 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I love and 100% agree with your training philosophy!!
    tired/heavy legs are what I like to go into Longruns with, I used those runs as mental boosts during race. I tell myself “you’ve run fast with legs that hurt a lot more than this!” and it helps me get through miles 21-26.2 with speed :)
    I hope you’re having a great weekend!
    xoxo!

    • Julia October 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      Yup, it’s as much of a physical boost as it is a mental boost!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

