You get up when?!

25 Oct

Wednesday workout:  REST

I just LOVE this time of day (night?)…..very, very, very early in the morning before the world awakes.   I’ve been getting up at 4:00 most days.  I say this, because I’ve been getting some questions and comments regarding when I get up from people who have noticed the time at which I send emails or make fb comments, and even Dean has been like so what exactly do you do for 3 hours before work?, so let me explain:

4:00 may sound crazy, but I am naturally a morning person (I started going to before school skating practices when I was in elementary school), and so I actually get up quite easily at this time and have found that this is the only time of day when I can consistently get things done.  Some people find that their most effective time for working is late at night.  For some it is late morning.   For me it is early early in the morning.

I write a lot about running, working out, food, and beer on this blog, and it may seem like that is my priority–and running has creeped into becoming my priority in the past–but right now it’s residency and studying for me.  I have my boards in a little less than a year from now, and it is not something you can cram for, especially given other events in my life leading up to that exam (my wedding!), and so I have really cracked down on myself with the studying, making sure I study at least an hour every day.  The time of day when I can consistently get that done is before I go into work at 7:00.  I have tried so many times to do my studying in the evening, but I just don’t do it consistently, because I am usually mentally burnt out from work by the end of the day.

So what does my schedule look like?  It will completely change in a week when I return to the ER : (, but for now it looks like this:

Alarm goes off at 4:00.  From 4-5 I allow myself to catch up on social media, emails, news and perhaps do some blogging while drinking my coffee and waking up.  By 5:00 at the latest, I start my studying and study until 6:00.  From 6-6:45, I get ready (hair, makeup, packing lunch, etc).  While getting ready, I usually either listen to a news podcast or a video lecture on some radiology topic.

I am then at the hospital from 7-5ish (again, this will drastically change in a week), so I get home around 5:30.  Then I work out, eat dinner with Dean, watch TV, do another light ~30 minutes of studying, and then go to bed, which is usually between 10:30-11:00.   If I am consistent about the times I go to bed and the times I get up (and gladly accept the help of caffeine), I can function decently with 5-6 hours of sleep/night.

The only thing I don’t like about getting up early is that I am ready for lunch by 10:00 am, and so I end up snacking on foods all morning long.

So, anyway, that is what my schedule looks like, and it’s almost 5, so I gotta get studying!

Btw, this is a perfectly normal way to eat peanut butter, right??:

I’ve actually not put this sunflower seed butter on anything.  I’ve literally gone through nearly an entire jar in around a month just from eating spoonfuls of it directly from the jar:

Gross?  I don’t think so ; )

8 Responses to “You get up when?!”

  1. kaitwatts October 25, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    I’m totally a morning person too. But, more a 5am er than a 4am er. I am far more productive. Plus, I enjoy the quiet of the mornings.

  2. melissa October 25, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    any suggestions for good news podcasts?

    • Julia October 25, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      I love WSJ This Morning. They’re usually about 35 minutes long each day.

      • melissa October 26, 2012 at 7:12 am #

        thanks, just added it to my list!

  3. runningthewindycity October 25, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I wake up early too. Usually between 4:30 and 5 am. Now I workout then but when I was in school I used to do a fair amount of studying too. I function a lot better in the mornings than the evenings and am much more productive.

  4. torontorunner October 26, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    I stumbled across your blog randomly, and love it :)

    You are surely extremely busy!
    Absolute best of luck with your exams and residency.
    My brother is doing his residency program right now too, and it’s definitely a lot of hard work!
    Good luck!

  5. jill @ lifeinaQ4world October 28, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    i’m so jealous you can function on that little sleep…you shoulda been a surgeon! =)

    • Julia October 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Haha, I probably could’ve functioned ok as a surgeon, at least physically, but mentally without lots of free time to spend time doing the things I enjoy outside of medicine, not sure if I would have done so well : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

