NYC, race recap, and two pregnancy side effects

15 Jan

Tuesday workout:  half-marathon through Central Park.

Haha, ok… I didn’t run a formal half marathon:  I ran to Central Park from our hotel, ran (more like jogged) two full loops around the park, and then decided to stop at 13.1 miles instead of 13.0 miles, because saying you ran a half marathon sounds so much cooler than 13 miles ; )

The weather was absolutely perfect in my opinion for running:  light drizzle, upper 40s/low 50s.  I actually kinda wanted to do 15 miles, because I’ve been doing a 12-13 mile run nearly every weekend for the past 6 weeks, and this distance feels very easy and comfortable for me now, especially since I’m running slow.  However, I didn’t get my butt out the door early enough and had to get back to the hotel to get ready to check out.

IMG_6192

As you all know, I love taking pics of things seen along my running route, but yesterday, although great for running, was a horrible day for taking pictures.  Plus, it was raining out, and I had to keep my phone safe in a plastic bag.

It was a quick trip to NYC, but let me just say…I LOVE this city.  I really do.  Of course, I guess I say that about every place I visit…haha…I even loved living in Oxford, Ohio (such a quaint college town with great surrounding trails to run, hike, and bike).  I love Chicago, I love Colorado, I love San Francisco, I love driving through the open prairie land of Kansas, etc.  I guess happiness and the places you visit and live are what you make of them.  Beauty is all around us, and happiness comes from within (“deep” lame comment, haha…I know you’re rolling your eyes at the comment, and it’s ok, so am I, but it is sorta true).  But seriously, I really, really love NYC.  There is just no other U.S. city I can compare it to.  It’s its own entity.  So much energy, diversity, character….easy to get around, easy to be independent, fast-paced, no-nonsense, great pizza, great coffee, great bagels, great people.

The main reason we came out to NYC was because Dean had a business conference here.  We basically had one day to explore the city together (Sunday), and then I enjoyed the city on my own Monday and part of Tuesday while Dean was at work.

We started off our day on Sunday with a 5 and 10 mile run in Central Park.  Dean, since he doesn’t run regularly and prefers biking, stuck to the 5 mile race while I did the 10 mile run.

As I normally do, and especially now that I am pregnant, I took the first half cautiously and then sped up a little during the second 5 mile lap since I felt good.  I focused only on myself and my running…when doing a race pregnant, you cannot get caught up in trying to keep up with a certain person/pace group or try to pass people.  This is not the time to get competitive and let pride get in the way.  Focus on yourself only and how you feel.

Half way through, I had to take a pit stop.  One of the things I’ve had do deal with recently on my runs is having to pee.  I guess it’s some physiologic effect of the HCG, but sheesh, if this is a problem at 12-13 weeks, I cannot imagine how I am going to feel third trimester when my bladder is being squished by my uterus!  It’s so annoying.  I first started noticing this about 2-3 weeks ago.  I would literally pee right before leaving for my run, and 1-2 miles in, I uncomfortably had to pee again.  One time I literally had to hide behind a trash can on the Chicago lakefront and squat and pee.  I anticipate this happening many more times, but hopefully by the time it gets significantly worse, bathrooms will be open again along the Chicago lakefront!  haha.

IMG_6170

Picture courtesy of Dean, who was cheering me on at the end of the race : )

IMG_6160

My reason for wearing the running for two shirt now, even though only Dean and I can tell I’m mildly showing, is not because I’m trying to brag and be like, “look at me running for two!” Nope, it’s because of pride. I know I said you can’t let pride affect HOW you run, but it DOES affect how I feel about myself. I wear this so people will be like, “ahhh, that’s why she’s running so slow.” haha, I know I’m being ridiculous and no one would think that even if I wasn’t wearing the shirt, but it makes me feel better about myself and proud to be running no matter what the pace : )

IMG_6158

After the race, our friends Beth and Marc, with whom we were staying with Saturday night, gave us a brief driving tour through the city (this is Dean’s first “real” time in NYC), and then Dean and I went off on our own to explore.  We visited and ate at NYC’s Eataly, walked the High Line, tried to go to a Beer Garden for Dean (but he forgot his ID : (  ), and walked around the West Village, which is one my favorite areas in NYC.

IMG_2791

The High Line.

IMG_2789 - Version 2

Taking a break on the High Line from all the walking.

While Dean was at work the next two days, I visited SoHo, Union Square, and tested out some restaurants on my own.   I also went searching for new sports bras.  I always gravitate to workout/fitness stores!  haha.  But seriously, the bra/boob problem…Oh lord, during first trimester, my breasts were the most painful thing about running.  Tmi?  maybe, but let’s be honest, this is no secret side effect of pregnancy…your breasts HURT during first trimester, and they grow.  I guess that’s a bonus? I’m sure that’s how Dean feels ; )  haha, but spending money on new bras was something I’d rather not have to do, but looks like I really don’t have a choice.  My favorite sports bra is a Lululemon bra I was kindly given to test out.  It’s actually the sports bra I’m wearing in the above running pic.  I love it, but I cannot justify spending nearly $70 on a sports bra, even with a gift certificate, so luckily I found some Adidas sports bras on sale for $14.99.

~

Questions:

1.  Favorite U.S. city?

2.  Favorite brand sports bra?

7 Responses to “NYC, race recap, and two pregnancy side effects”

  1. ranchcookie January 15, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

    I love New York too! Not sure what my favorite is though. I like under armor sports bras but I usually just go for the cheapest one I can find!

    • Julia January 15, 2014 at 6:33 pm #

      I have never tried Under Armor…will have to test that out!

  2. 2 Cups 'N Run January 15, 2014 at 2:10 pm #

    I really like the Moving Comfort Fiona Bra, it doesn’t have padding like many of their bras (which I don’t like), it’s supportive, doesn’t chafe, and it’s not a racerback (which is nice for a change, as all my other sports bras are racerbacks).

    • Julia January 15, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

      Just checked that bra out on line, and it looks nice and supportive and isn’t overly expensive. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Laura @ RunningJunkie January 15, 2014 at 4:55 pm #

    I’ll tell you what, for a pregnant woman you look and run awesome! Great job on the race!

    I haven’t found any great sports bras, but I think that’s because I have really small boobs, so it doesn’t take much to hold them down. I have heard lots of good things about Moving Comfort recently though, I am thinking about trying out some of their other apparel.

    • Julia January 15, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

      Thanks Laura : ) I’m normally like you: it normally doesn’t take much to support my normally small boobs, but now that they’ve grown at least one cup size and are sore, it’s whole new issue I’ve never dealt with, haha.

  4. Jennifer January 16, 2014 at 11:09 am #

    NYC is also my Favorite US City. If I did not live in Chicago, I would live in NYC… In fact, I considered moving there a few years ago but stayed in Chicago. I am 100% a city girl and cannot imagine a life where I do not live in a major city.

    BTW – I love the running for two tank!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

