Scenes from Connecticut and working out at home

17 Jan

Wednesday workout:  7 mile run

Thursday workout:  light strength training using body weight

I love running through new areas and having a change in the normal sites and sounds I’m used to in Chicago.  Wednesday I ran through some neighborhoods near my grandparents home in Connecticut and then ran along one of the beaches.  Normally, most of my running pics are taken with my small Canon PowerShot, but since I now always carry water with me in one hand when I run (because of the pregnancy and needing to stay hydrated), and since I always run with my phone in the other hand for safety reasons, all of the following pics were taken with my iPhone 4s (and then some filtered through instagram).

IMG_6227

IMG_6229

IMG_6231

IMG_6232

IMG_6236

IMG_6226

And then some delicious post-run nutrition.  I wasn't a huge fan of the sugary cereal my grandparents had in terms of its level of nutrition for me, so I did my best to make it more healthy by adding blueberries, bananas, and peanut butter (for some protein).  It was delicious!

And then some delicious post-run nutrition. I wasn’t a huge fan of the sugary cereal my grandparents had in terms of its level of nutrition for me, so I did my best to make it more healthy by adding blueberries, bananas, and peanut butter (for some protein). It was delicious!

The following day I was tempted to run but knew it was important to give my legs a rest day, so I decided to make it a strength day.  As you probably know, I am a huge advocate of strength training, not just because of the ways it can benefit running, such as injury prevention, but because it helps make your bones stronger.

You DONT need a gym to get a strength workout in.  Yesterday I walked over to the local gym to inquire about a guest pass for the day.  They were going to charge me nearly $40 for one workout.  Seriously?  ONE workout?!  That’s what I pay for an entire month at my gym back home.  No thank you.  I walked right out of there, back to my grandparents house, and did my own strength workout using my own body weight in their home.

I did three sets of the following:

-Pushups (I obviously won’t be able to do this once I have a real bump)

-One-legged squats

-Tricep dips using a chair

-Holding the squat position against the wall

-Calf-dips using the stairs (calf dips instead of raises is a type of eccentric muscle strengthening exercise that has been shown to help strengthen/heal the achilles)

Demonstrating the tricep dips, "chair/squat hold position", and one-legged calf dips using the patio stairs outside.  Also, I'm not sure what that spot is on my right leg in the squat picture...I swear the pants are clean!  haha

Demonstrating the tricep dips, “chair/squat hold position”, and one-legged calf dips using the patio stairs outside. Also, I’m not sure what that spot is on my right leg/knee in the squat picture…I swear the pants are clean! haha

It wasn’t much, but I do actually feel a little sore in a good way today, and it sure as heck beats paying $40!!

~

Favorite type of cereal?? (healthy or unhealthy/sugary)

Cereals I love:  Life and cinnamon toast crunch (but they both get soggy too quickly!!).  I also love peanut butter crunch.  

5 Responses to “Scenes from Connecticut and working out at home”

  1. ranchcookie January 17, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

    I just had to say your pictures are gorgeous !

    • Julia January 17, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

      Thanks Hilary!

  2. Runningwithscissors January 18, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    Looks like a beautiful run! My goal this year is to do more strength training. I swear……it’s going to happen! :)
    My favorite cereal is Frosted Mini Wheats. Yummy!!!!!!!

  3. Laura @ RunningJunkie January 18, 2014 at 8:27 pm #

    I can’t believe that they wanted to charge you $40 for a one day pass! That’s ridiculous!

    I love cereal, but don’t get it too much because I may eat too much of it. I like the Go Lean Kashi. (SO crunchy!). I always dress my cereals up with fruit, chia seeds, and nut butters.

    • Julia January 18, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

      Laura, I am exactly like you. I don’t buy cereal often, because there is no limit to how many bowls I can eat in one sitting! Haha. I usually go for the go lean kashi, too, when I buy it and try add fruit, nuts and other stuff to it to make more nutritious.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

