Road vs TM running effect on legs and what happens when you don’t wash your water bottle

21 Jan

How’s that for long blog post title?  haha.

Sunday workout:  7.5 mile run

Monday workout:  45 minute lightly inclined walk with 4 pound hand weights (1.5 minutes holding them alternating with a 1.5 minute break) + upper body weights

Tuesday workout:  45 minute elliptical

Sunday’s run was HARD.  My legs felt like like they had no energy left in them.  There were a lot more walk breaks than I had anticipated.  Funny how variable running can be.  Like, last Tuesday when I ran 13.1 miles, I felt like I could’ve made another 5-6 mile loop around Central Park easily.  Then, on Sunday I felt like a completely different runner.  That’s the frustrating thing about running/training.  You can be in the same physical shape and yet feel like two completely different runners on two different days.  It wasn’t stamina or generalized fatigue that was affecting me, it was my leg muscles that didn’t want to cooperate, and I think this is why:  During this pregnancy for safety reasons, I’ve been doing 80% of my running on the TM, which in my opinion, is more shock absorbing than running on pavement (I actually tried briefly to look up an article that proves this but couldn’t find one).  In NY/CT, I did 100% of my running on pavement.  That is, in a 6 day period, I ran 38.1 miles total, all outside on the less giving pavement.  My legs felt it.  They were tired, much more than normal.  This is why unless you’re, say, training for a treadmill race (ha, do these exist?), I think it’s best to run outside whenever possible.  Your legs need to be used to the pounding.  Obviously, though, a treadmill workout is better than no workout, so if you don’t have an option, better to still fit in your run on the treadmill than to not run at all.

Anyway, that is why I decided to take a few days off from the running.  I’ve said this before, but if you’re looking for a low intensity full body workout, walk with weights while maintaining good posture and exaggerating the arm movements.   I think when you get in the habit of running regularly or doing intense workouts, the idea of walking as a workout seems silly, but don’t discount it!  It can still be a great low impact, lower intensity workout, and sometimes that’s all you need.

A few random pics:

I LOVE (non-dairy) milk.  I go through a ton, usually drinking almond milk but sometimes drinking soy or coconut milk.  I finished this entire carton in less than a day.   Gotta keep those bones strong for all the running I do and to make sure there's plenty of calcium for me AND Baby O.

I LOVE (non-dairy) milk. I go through a ton, usually drinking almond milk but sometimes drinking soy or coconut milk. I finished this entire carton in less than a day. Gotta keep those bones strong for all the running I do and to make sure there’s plenty of calcium for me AND Baby O.

Folks, please make sure you clean your water bottles regularly.  This is what happened to mine when I traveled and went too long without washing it.  That is MOLD in the straw!  How disgusting is that.  I have no idea how to get it out and am probably just going to buy a new one.

Folks, please make sure you clean your water bottles regularly. This is what happened to mine when I traveled and went too long without washing it. That is MOLD in the straw! How disgusting is that. I have no idea how to get it out and am probably just going to buy a new one.

A brilliant idea for keeping your glasses safe if you forgot your glasses case.  Last week I left my bag with the concierge at the hotel after I had checked out and told them to be very careful with the bag because my glasses were in the side pocket without a case.  When I came back later to pick them up, I was at first pissed, because I thought they had stuffed a water bottle in my pocket and squashed my glasses, but then I realized they had made me a little case top protect my glasses : )

A brilliant idea for keeping your glasses safe if you forgot your glasses case.  Last week I left my bag with the concierge at the hotel after I had checked out and told them to be very careful with the bag because my glasses were in the side pocket without a case.  When I came back later to pick my bags up, I was at first pissed, because I thought they had stuffed a water bottle in my pocket and squashed my glasses, but then I realized they had made me a little case to protect my glasses : )

What our fridge looked like when I returned home.  Am I the only person who can't get their husband to go grocery shopping on their own?!

What our fridge looked like when I returned home from Connecticut.  Dean got home 4 days before me, and I thought he would have picked up at least a few groceries.   Nope.  Only beer.  Am I the only person who can’t get their husband to go grocery shopping on their own?!  : )

These are dangerous for me to have around the house....I am addicted to them and cannot stop eating them once I start.  I think just ate at least 4 servings and finished the bag.  I guess Baby O. likes his carbs : )

These are dangerous for me to have around the house….I am addicted to them and cannot stop eating them once I start. I think I just ate at least 4 servings and only stopped, because I finished the bag.  I guess Baby O. likes his carbs : )

Saw this on fb the other day and couldn't help but laugh.  THIS is why I always have a small cup of coffee before I run!  haha.

Saw this on fb the other day and couldn’t help but laugh. THIS is why I always have a small cup of coffee before I run in the morning!  haha.

~

14 week pregnancy update will be posted tomorrow or Thursday.

Questions

1.  “Milk” drinkers:  what kind of “milk” do you mostly drink?  Regular 2%, regular skim, soy, almond, rice, coconut, hemp milk, etc.??

2.  What is your food weakness.  That is, what can’t you stop eating once you start? 

Cereal, pita chips, ice cream

3.  How often do you wash your water bottles?

I’m honestly not sure, probably every 10-14 days, although I must’ve gone longer this last time.  I’m washing them ever other day from now on!

5 Responses to “Road vs TM running effect on legs and what happens when you don’t wash your water bottle”

  1. sarahdudek80 January 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

    All about almond and coconut milk here. Oh I miss my coffee too. We are trying ourselves. So I am down to one cup a day. Ugh.

    • Julia January 22, 2014 at 8:03 am #

      That’s exciting for you!! I used to drink a LOT of coffee, but had gradually cut down over the summer and fall (not really intentional, but glad I did). When I found out I was pregnant, I was relieved to find out I could drink up to 200 mg per day, which was plenty for me at that point (cup in the morning and one in the afternoon if I wanted it). However, there were a lot of times when I didn’t feel like coffee because of morning sickness, and so I didn’t drink much on those days….those days were rough.

  2. alexis January 21, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

    Take the rubber part of the water bottle off and you can use a little bleach to kill the mold. If you don’t want to soak it in bleach/water you can dab a little on a Q-tip or put a wash cloth in there to wipe it out.

    • Julia January 22, 2014 at 8:07 am #

      Thanks Alexis! I’m actually a huge idiot…I did not realize the rubber part came off. haha. Now it seems a whole lot easier to clean.

  3. Jennifer January 22, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    I agree with the difference between treadmill and street running. I have been trying to run outside at least one day a week but this weather is making it rather difficult to do so…

    I am a huge fan of chocolate milk for post workout but I don’t drink it too often.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

