The tragedy that occurred this morning.

25 Jun

Monday workout:  20 minutes of biking total (to and from work)

Yup, my working out has been so pitiful lately that I’m now including my commute as my workout.  Soon I’ll be so desperate that I might start counting taking the stairs or getting up to go to the bathroom as part of my daily workout!  Ha.  Kidding.  I actually have laundry to do tonight and an episode of Bachelorette to catch up on, so that’ll give me plenty of time to kill on the elliptical.

This morning was a bit chaotic for me, which is not abnormal for a Monday.  First of all, I got up 45 minutes later than planned, because ever since I moved, I’ve been using my iphone as an alarm, which just doesn’t work for me, because I always turn it off rather than hit snooze.  It really wasn’t a big deal that I got up late in terms of me getting to work on time… it just meant that I couldn’t have my typical lazy morning that involves leisurely getting ready in the morning while sipping my coffee and listening to WSJ online.   Instead, I felt rushed, and of course it’s when you’re rushed when everything wrong seems to happen!

First, when I grabbed the coffee pot this morning to pour myself coffee, the whole top part came with it and wet, ground coffee beans flew everywhere, including the drawer I had left open with a ton of measuring utensils in it.  What a pain in the as$ it was to clean. Then, when I was getting ready in the bathroom, I went to grab my brush, and accidentally took my filled coffee cup with me, so now I had to clean up wet coffee that spilled every where.  Two spills in one morning!!  The worse thing about the second spill was that although I didn’t spill any on my clothes, I got my hair rubber band soaked in coffee.  Now, this may not seem like a big deal, but it is a tragedy for me because they just don’t make hair rubberbands the way they used to.  Mine ALWAYS break, so a quality, non-thinned-out-about-to-break rubber band is like gold to me!  I guess I could have just washed it, but I was so mad that I just threw it out.  Now I only own one quality hair rubber band.  Horrible, right?  I know.  Life is rough.

All of my rubberbands end up like this: broken. Sometimes I’m desperate and try to tie them back together like the ones in the upper corners. So maddening, especially when they break as you’re putting your hair up.

~

Last night Dean and I had our first guests over for dinner!  His sister, Katie, and her husband and two kids and Dean’s parents all came over for dinner.  It’s so nice to actually have space to entertain!

Our appetizer table.

A closeup of the Bruschetta.

Dean and I didn’t make anything fancy.  For appetizers we bough some chips, salsa, guac and olives, and I made some bruschetta, and for dinner we had salad and pasta made with sauteed mushrooms and chicken “Italian sausage.”  Dean makes the mushrooms without using any oil or butter, and they always turn out great!

The beautiful Leon family hanging out on the rooftop: Katie (Dean’s sister), Gustavo, and their two boys Donovan and Anthony.

Hanging out watching TV (cartoons) at our place. Anthony’s eyes were glued to the TV here.  So were Donovan’s and Dean’s dad’s : )

Dean and Anthony.

Donovan is working on becoming a guitar player when he grows up ; )

The view from our rooftop. I was trying to catch the reflection in that glass building in the center. Such a cool view.

Anthony. I’m sorta obsessed with Katie’s kids. They are so cute.

The beautiful flowers Katie brought over for my birthday. I LOVE corral!

Our apartment, finally looking cozy and feeling like home!

QUESTIONS:

Ladies (or long haired guys), what brand hair rubber bands do you use??

Favorite way to eat pasta?  

I literally love pasta plain with only salt and parmesan added to it…no sauce.

12 Responses to “The tragedy that occurred this morning.”

  1. Jayne June 25, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I love pasta with as sauce made of 1 Avocado, 2 garlic cloves, 2 tbsp Olive Oil and 2 tbsp of fresh lemon juice, whiz up in food processor and add to freshly cooked pasta, so so delicious!

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:52 am #

      Oh my gosh, that sounds fabulous! Dean and I LOVE avocados, so I will have to try that next time!!

  2. kaitwatts June 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Ugh, I recently went through the hair tie dilemma. In fact, one broke while out on a long run. Thankfully I had an elastic headband and I used that.

    • Robbie Shoop June 25, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      I thought on my daughter Lexi had the hair band problem. Every time she sees some she grabs them and tests them to see how strong they are. She also says they don’t make them as strong as they used to be. She now wears multiple hair bands at the same time to keep her hair tied.

      • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:51 am #

        So I’m not the only one who thinks the quality of hair rubber bands has gone down! I usually have to use two in my hair at once.

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:52 am #

      Ughhh. So annoying! I’ve had to resort to that before, as well!

  3. Daphne @ Candy Coated Runner June 26, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    For pasta, I love pesto! Love, love, love! Your apt looks super cute!

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:50 am #

      Yes, I forgot about pesto. That is great as well!!

  4. runningthewindycity June 26, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    I never find good hair bands and when I do they last about a week before they stretch out! So annoying!

    • Julia June 27, 2012 at 4:50 am #

      Yup. So annoying.

  5. Maggie June 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Ummm I love your apartment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

